We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Der Dutchman Restaurant

Der Dutchman Restaurant
720 State Route 97 West, Bellville, OH 44813
+1 419-886-7070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Bellville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Owatonna, Minnesota
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Service and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great home style cooking, at a good price. We had the buffet with choices to satisfy everyone. No waiting. Also a good place to shop for those souvenirs, and snacks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    23
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galion
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Homestyle Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Amish food without having to travel to Amish country to enjoy. Love the gift shop and bakery as well. They have a great buffet daily with lots of choice of hot foods and the best salad bar around!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting Place-Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The restaurant features Amish country cooking. It also has a salad and buffet bar. I ordered from the senior menu which features smaller portions. I had the broasted chicken breast and sweet potatoe soufflé. The chicken was crusty on the outside and moist and tinder inside. The soufflé included pecans and was excellent. My husband had the salad bar which had a great variety of salads and dressings, including an excellent sweet and sour dressing. They have a large dessert menu of pies, puddings, cakes and ice cream. I ordered the bread pudding with lemon sauce. The pudding was perfectly cooked to a custard consistency and the lemon sauce had the true flavor of lemons. My husband had the butterscotch pie which he enjoyed. The restaurant also has a large gift shop with a variety of items, and a bakery. The service was excellent. We wanted to buy a pint of the sweet and sour dressing, but the bakery was sold out of the prepackaged containers. The staff went out of their way to find a container so that we could take some dressing with us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savanna, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Plain and Plentiful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I went for the buffet although I tend to not like steam table food. My brother raved over the fried chicken although I passed. The mashed potatoes were over-mashed and starchy. The salad bar was excellent as were the cooked vegetables. I missed seeing the soup on the buffet line until I was on my way out. The rolls and pie were excellent. There is nothing special here, but it a great place to get a quick, plentiful meal at a good price.
Note the restaurant closes early and isn't open on Sunday

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stopped to eat dinner here while traveling. The food was good and plenty of it! There is no need for anyone to go away hungry. A little disappointed that there wasn't a better selection of desserts from the bar. Overall, it was a good experience with good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Der Dutchman Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Der Dutchman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Dutchman Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.