We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel at a fair price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Northview, Bellefontaine, OH 43311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bellefontaine
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“OK Hotel at a fair price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Compared to most Comfort Inns I have visited - this one seemed to be a good value for the money. Breakfast selection was decent, always parking available, and clean for the most part. Carpeting in the hallway and the room was a bit on the dingy side, but tolerable. The building (especially the room I got) did have a musty/dank smell to it as many other reviews stated.

Probably my biggest issue here was that the staff didn't want to take my payment! I booked the room on a credit card that I had since cancelled. I informed the gal at the desk of this when I checked in - and she told me that I could just pay the cash (per my request) at the end of the stay. I wanted to pay then (didn't want a week's stay worth of cash sitting my pocket all week long) - but she insisted that I needed to pay at the departure. I then got a call after 10:30pm (waking me up) the next night telling me there was an issue with the credit card I was using to pay - and it had been denied. DUH! Didn't appreciate the late night wake up call to tell me the obvious - especially after a long day's work outdoors. I was told to go to the front desk the next morning to pay so I could remain there - and my weekly rate had gone from $396 to $470!!!. Went the next morning to the desk - and they still wouldn't take my cash payment - but worked my rate out to match the price I got when originally booked online. I was warned not to "skip out" without not paying - I mean, come on - - - - - I was trying to pay since day one and they wouldn't take the paymemt. If I had skipped out (and I didn't) - it would have been their foolishness for refusing money the first two times!!!

Had to wait until the week was up to pay for the room.... That was just so non-typical of a hotel.

Looked like the nicer place at that intersection, by the way!

(I travel all over the country with my job, and I contribute on EVERY hotel I stay in. Trip Advisor has been a great tool for me, and I contribute fairly, for both good and bad facilities.)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
7
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudsonville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

In the past three weeks I have stayed at the Comfort Inn two different times. The staff was always very friendly. They seemed to be short staffed but that did not matter on how we were treated. The rooms did need some fixings but nothing major and they were clean for me and I am a fanatic about hotel cleanliness. Seeing a past review about bed bugs we checked our beds and there was no sign at all. This last time we were there our family had 4 rooms booked with not complaints. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

This is what all Comfort Inns aspire to be. It was clean, comfortable and staff was friendly. I've never seen a better-kept breakfast area. The attendant was a wonderful lady who kept everything spotless & fully stocked. She helped guests in the most friendly way. Even the housekeeping staff was friendly in greeting us on our way out of the room in the morning. The bar is a nice touch, friendly upbeat place to relax after a long day. Would very much recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

A large group travelled to this hotel for a wedding in the area. People had driven several hours to attend this wedding, and at least three rooms were checked out of immediately due to the filth and the spotting of bed bugs. We personally witnessed bed bugs crawling on the comforter. I immediately looked up photographs of bed bugs online and it was an exact match.

It's a shame that a nationally recognized brand has such a filthy facility. I have done a lot of travelling in my day, and have never had to write a negative review about any hotel. The bathrooms were covered in hair, the floors were filthy and left socks and feet black.

When some of the guests approached the front desk to check out, the front desk seemed as if bed bugs were no big deal, and as if it was a normal occurrence. The person at the front desk told me "this is happening all over the nation sir".

Stay away from this place. Unfortunately, it seems as if the best choice in Bellefountaine for lodging would be to sleep in your car.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bellefontaine hotels

Windy City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at Bellefontaine's Comfort Inn in May 2009. As mentioned by another reviewer, hotel choices in this area are slim. While the room was clean, it had a very musty odor that was quite unpleasant. I would highly recommend opening the windows to air out the room if at all possible. The carpet showed wear as did the furnishings. Noise was an issue. We could hear guests in other rooms. We could also hear music from the Fountain Lounge, a bar that is housed within this facility and stays open until 2:30 am. If you are traveling and need a place to stay en route to another destination, I highly recommend continuing on towards Columbus or another larger area for a better facility at a comparable rate.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Affordable, convenient to restaurants. Front desk was accommodating. Interior shows wear and tear exemplifying an odor. Room was clean.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

Ok experience, hotel seems to be older so carpet shows some wear/odors. Has a Lounge on site, and couple of local restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 260 Northview, Bellefontaine, OH 43311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Bellefontaine
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bellefontaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Bellefontaine, Ohio
Bellefontaine Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.