We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service good, food ok, price to high” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelo's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Abuelo's
2420 Fairfield Road, Beavercreek, OH 45431
(937) 426-3070
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 99 Restaurants in Beavercreek
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Troy, Ohio
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Service good, food ok, price to high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We came here for the first time to celebrate my husbands 24th bday. We had 7 altogether. When we first came in we were told a 30 min wait. Shortly after a manager came and apologized for the wait and said they were setting up our table. Once seated she then told us we would get a free appetizer for waiting which was very nice and it was great with the chips. Our waiter was very nice. The food though, which some liked and others not as much was average. The picture on the menu and what was brought looked very different portion wise. Most everything was smaller portion, which we weren't use to at other Mexican restaurants. Especially since the prices were very steep. The food itself wasn't bad, but I wouldn't return due to the prices. There are other less expensive Mexican restaurants with the same quality of food or better. I expect to leave full, not still hungry after spending close to $20 on one meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Service awful, food really good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

First time visiting Abuelo's and was not happy with the service staff at all. My husband and I wanted to try something different so we decided to come here. Hostess started us off with "we were just slammed and barelyy have any silverware." After being taken to our table I had to clean the greasey spot off the seat with my dinner napkin. Asked for a new napkin and never did get it so husband grabbed napkin off another table. Waitress seemed disinterested in us from the start. We told her it was our first time there and she took no time to explain anything about the restaurant or menu. She brought chips and three sauces but did not explain any of the sauces. She asked if we wanted queso for our chips but didn't wait for our answer. We were not offered plates for our appetizers. When she brought our food out she slid it across the table. I had to wait for a to go box because she never came back until it was time for our check. The check was wrong, we were charged for items we didn't order. When we pointed this out there was no apology. Also at least 4 times throughout the meal, trays were dropped on the floor including right next to us. When we left, several wait staff and hostess were literally leaning on the podium in the front of the restaurant. The food was really good and the only reason i didn't rate the place as "terrible". However, the service was so bad, we won't be back. There are other restaurants in this area that offer the same quality of food but much better service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, noisy environment.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

First visit for the wife and I. Interior reminded us of Ceasar's Palace in Las Vegas. Arches, ceiling painted as the sky, statues.
Food was good. A tad "pricey." Noise level was very high. Too many eateries play loud, high tempo music to get you agitated so you'll leave. They don't realize many of us will never return because of it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food greater service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We came here to eat on the 4th of July
The Juarez is great but the best is the service here they help you and you don't have to ask for a thing we were taken care of
The chips and salsa are good 3 kinds of salsa hot sweet and mild and if you ask they have an extra hot
Food was great will go again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best service in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is always top notch, Leslie & Clair is awesome. I saw the district manager here once and he was working harder than everyone busting tables and saying hello to customers. You'll never see a DM doing front line employee work, very nice to see it here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

 
Beavercreek, OH
 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuelo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.