We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1861 Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Batavia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1861 Inn
Save
You added 1861 Inn to your Saves list
300 N. Riverside Drive, Batavia, OH 45103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batavia
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Top notch B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The 1861 Inn is a lovely B&B with great hosts and good food. The hosts set up a bike itinerary for us of about 18 miles with some good hills through slightly rolling countryside, once we climbed the 400 feet or so out of the river valley where the Inn resides. Nice porches, super quiet 18 inch brick walls and comfy beds made for a great sleep. We had dinner there with another couple we did not know beforehand and Tom/Carol the hosts. Very nice 5 course dinner with wine included for $35 each, autumn themed with local produce. Breakfast, the underlying mainstay of a great B&B did not disappoint with baked fruit, fresh muffins, waffles with cinammon butter, sauteed apples and maple syrup, juice and coffee. We spent an hour at breakfast (and three at dinner, which was followed by an outside fire with the six of us). Good signs of both the food and the company. We live 20 minutes away but I would drive hours to go here. Strongly recommend.

Room Tip: The room with the fireplace is nice if you plan to use it and it has a bigger bathroom, but the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Innkeepers Carole & Tom couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome-from accommodating our dietary preferences to recommending good restaurants for dinner that were only about 20 minutes away. Carole's culinary training made our three breakfasts delightful. If you enjoy swimming you can take advantage of the good-sized outdoor pool, an amenity that may not be typical in the B&B industry. The Inn has only three rooms, so plan ahead!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

The 1861 Inn was a true pleasure. From the moment we walked in the door, we were made to feel at home and relaxed. The room was large and beautifully appointed with a giant claw foot tub, steam shower, and fireplace. Breakfast was a treat both mornings. We even got to use the hot tub on the back patio!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

I stayed in the 1861 inn with my partner and my parents, so between us we had both rooms available (they're currently creating a third bedroom in the pool house I believe). We were in the area for my brother's wedding and it was a great location for us as we were near the wedding venue and family. Its about 30-40 minutes out of downtown Cincinnati.

Carole and Tom made us feel so welcome and were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Both rooms were beautiful, one with a claw-foot bath tub and ensuite, the other with ensuite facilities and private balcony. This overlooked the pool and hot tub which we were welcome to use and was very pleasant in the hot weather. The breakfasts were also some of the best I've ever eaten.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. Carole and Tom really helped us to celebrate a lovely wedding week in the States.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1861 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1861 Inn

Address: 300 N. Riverside Drive, Batavia, OH 45103
Location: United States > Ohio > Clermont County > Batavia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batavia
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
1861 Inn Batavia, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1861 Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.