We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berlin's Motel

Berlin's Motel
Berlin's Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Berlin's Motel to your Saves list
Berlin's Motel
334 31st St NW, Barberton, OH 44203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Barberton B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Although small and bare bones, The Berlin is exceptionally clean and the staff polite
, professional and accomodating. The price was reasonable and the air conditioning excellent even on an extremely hot day and night. I am very satisfied and will be returning here on my next trip. There is a small restaurant on the property- very handy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was visiting some friends in Barberton, but I could not stay at their house because I'm allergic to cats. I needed to find some cheap accommodations in the area, and, not wanting to book an expensive hotel 20 minutes away in Akron, I settled for Berlin's Motel. They were inexpensive and very close to my friends' house.

I was satisfied with the room I stayed in for three nights. It was as clean as you would expect a very old motel room to be. The plumbing and furnishing had not been updated for a very long time, but everything did work OK, and the place was very suitable for my needs. No bugs, no weird stains. I felt like it was a lot of space for $50 a night - decent-sized room, bed, and bathroom accommodations. The neighborhood is a little seedy...but that's Barberton for you.

Berlin's Motel is not the kind of place I would recommend for anyone with a Paris Hilton complex, but if you're the 'boy/girl scout' type and can deal with less-than-luxury, this place is a good find for a long weekend in Barberton.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The room was neat and looked clean, but the toilet had some hard crusty stuff around the rim that I had to clean and rub hard to get off and you could see "remnants" of the last guest still on the seat surface, and I won't go into what was around the base of the toilet. So I had to go and buy cleanser for the bathroom, and decided to clean the tub too based on how the toilet looked. Good thing I did. After spraying cleanser, greyish sludge slid down the sides of the tub. The carpet had a bad odor and stuck to your shoes in some areas. The beds had horrible sheets and pillowcases, cigarette burn holes and dingy stains. There were quite a bit of gnats floating around in the room and darting, and I spied those big black carpenter ants crawling near the bed area. The non smoking room was extremely smokey. No one came around to clean my room but once in one week, and when I asked for a roll of tissue I was given a total of 4 restaurant napkins (puzzlement???). I had to go and get my own. They only offer about 7 channels total; Nick, Discovery, USA, HBO, a couple of local channels and PBS. The free internet is barely accessible, it only connects for a few minutes and keeps shutting down, that is when it connects at all. I was encouraged to sit outside or go in the vending area to get better reception. Now why didn't I think of that! Why not go sit in the hot sun or muggy vending room all day to use the internet! I was told the rooms had microwave and fridges when I called but was provided with no microwave. For what I paid could've stayed in a hotel instead of a motel.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are more grimey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

My Army Husband was visiting our hometown and we were low on money and had heard about Berlin's. As we arrived, I was leery about the neighborhood and the looks of the motel, but as soon as we received our room I was surprised. Extremely clean conditions and great service. The room was slightly smalled than other hotels, but for more than half the price you cannot pass this place up. I will never stay at a different place while visiting in Ohio. I would absolutely recommend staying here if you do not mind a smaller room and lower quality neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berlin's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin's Motel

Address: 334 31st St NW, Barberton, OH 44203
Location: United States > Ohio > Barberton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Berlin's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin's Motel Barberton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berlin's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.