We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT QUALITY FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maxwells Restaurant & Bar

Maxwells Restaurant & Bar
1380 9th Street East, Suite 601, West Fargo, ND 58078-3382 (Formerly WF Maxwells)
701-277-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maxwells Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in West Fargo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 13th Avenue and 9th St. E
Description: Maxwell’s is no ordinary experience. Maxwell's offers a relaxed environment, adventurous cuisine and professional service ‘with a personality.’ Superior food, drink and celebration are permanent features. With the region’s largest collection of wines, a diverse selection of beers of the world, and premium beverages, Maxwell’s is an exciting blend of your imagination and our unique casual elegance.
minnesota
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“GREAT QUALITY FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

In Fargo for business and after a long day, the Hotel recommended Maxwells. What a GREAT recommendation! Good wait staff! Explained evening specials and questions about the menu that i had. Ordered the rib eye, medium rare, and was cooked to perfection. UNBELIEVABLE taste! Savored every bite! Ordered dessert, bread pudding, with bananas and vanilla bean ice cream (not a calorie)..I thought that the steak was good, but this was just as amazing! Just as good or better that grandma made!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    22
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best brunch but just overall good! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This used to be run by mosaic who now run the fabulous Mezzaluna. Still, Fargo has hit that critical mass where they can sustain several fine dining options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Heard a lot about this place and so six of us visited on a not very busy Saturday night. Started with a cheese platter which was ordered by part of the group prior to our arrival. Really nice variety of cheese and interesting toasts. Strawberry Zinfandeal soup and green salads also nicely presented and tasty. One simple pasta with cheese, a nice salmon dish, the pork tenderloin, and NY Strip were all really well presented. Our problem was service. Had some problems getting refills on water and timing between courses was way too long. We kind of just sat there waiting for our food for a long time. No one stopped by to see how things were going nor did anyone ask how our main courses were. We thought the service was kind of lackadaisical for a supposedly top end spot. The bar had a number of people watching NHL hockey game. Maybe the staff was doing the same.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extremely Excellent! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Every time we come here we are given the most Wonderful service, from making our reservations all the way to paying for our meal. The food is consistently delicious, with a great appearance! I can't forget to mention the awesome atmosphere!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb, innovative menu and very friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I came to Fargo from New York City on a business trip and fortunately found Maxwells. The service was extremely good. The decor and art work are interesting but unobtrusive. The meal was superb. I started with prosciutto wrapped scallops topped with small pieces of lobster in a succulent mild, red curry. My second course was a medium rare elk in a pepper, cherry sauce. And I managed to spare a tiny bit of room to have the cappucino creme brulee. The chef is from North Dakota, and the restaurant is managed by a terribly charming Mexican, Ramon Sosa, originally from Cozumel who has a degree in tourism management. His hard work and creativity show through in so many ways throughout the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRome, Public Relations Manager at Maxwells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! Ramon was very excited to tell us about you. We love hearing from visitors to the area and also how they found us. Can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwells Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Maxwells Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxwells Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.