We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   525 East Main Avenue, West Fargo, ND 58078 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn West Fargo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in West Fargo
Regina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Decent place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The place was generally good.
There was road construction going on in the area which made it a little harder to get into. It was also a bit noisy at times, due to the road construction.
My wife and I both found the pillows very much less than adequate. It didn't matter whether we used one, two or three pillows.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay. We apologize the pillows were less than adequate and will examine our pillows for maximum comfort. The road construction is a bit on going at times, and we do thank you for choosing our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    45
    51
    25
    26
See reviews for
80
41
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cloyne, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Must say that for a quiet place to stay, this place worked for us. The room, number 123 , had a queen bed and a large recliner as well as a desk and chair. Terrific. The breakfast included cereals, toast and waffles but no fruit.
For a good nights sleep while traveling, how can one go wrong with this stay that cost me, tax included, $52.55.

Room Tip: Be aware this property in in West Fargo, not in Fargo ND.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for your positive experience feedback; we are pleased that you enjoyed our queen bed room and the quiet night. We’ve also noted the fruit recommendation on weekly breakfast. We also appreciate you sharing your experience and hope you come back and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMAHAWK
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The rooms were ok, and the hotel was quiet enough, but the lobby didn't make a good impression. There was construction in front of the hotel and I felt annoyed that they wanted an extra $10 per night for the small dog instead of one payment for the two night stay. The breakfast was fairly minimal but ok. Although I reserved for two nights, they only had planned on my staying one night. I tried to take advantage of that to move to a different hotel for the second night, but that didn't work out, so I stayed two nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing the West Fargo Howard Johnson. We apologize you felt annoyed for having to pay the pet fee, but this is standard policy for all hotels and most hotels in our area don't accept pets at all. Our posted policy is actually $15 per night, per pet. You received a $5 discount per night for your pet. We have to uphold our pet policy to insure against damages or any other incidents that may happen when pets stay with us. You should have been able to cancel your second night before 11AM check out time, unless you reserved through a third party company such at Hotwire or Expedia. I urge you to contact us directly if you have any further questions regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was generally pleased with my stay there. They could work on the dusting and window cleaning a little more but overall I was pleased and would stay there again if in the area. The staff was very friendly and attentive to the needs of its guests. The WiFi was great had no problem. Very quiet, they didnt tolerate a lot of disruptive behavior from their guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your recent stay; we apologize that your windows were dusty and have noted this for review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the WiFi and quietness of the hotel. Our hotel takes pride in providing the best customer service to everyone and we’re glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I travel to Fargo, ND several times a year for business, and have stayed at several different hotels in the area. When planning my last visit, I had difficulty finding a room anywhere online to stay. A friend mentioned the Howard Johnson Inn, so I decided to give it a try. I couldn't have made a better decision! Sam and Rita (the owners), went out of their way to ensure I had everything necessary to ensure my experience was nothing other than perfect! Being away from the comfort of one's own home for two week stints is never easy. However, the only place I would choose to stay in Fargo in the future is the Howard Johnson Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our establishment at the Hojo; and that you enjoyed our hospitality and found it to be a comfortable place to stay. Thank you for sharing your positive experience and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed one night in September and had a comfortable stay. There was construction outside on the street but with the window closed, we could hardly hear it. The bed was comfortable and the wi fi was fast. Our only complaint was the toilet had such low water pressure that you had to flush it twice. The guest laundry was efficient and inexpensive - only $2 for wash and dry.

Breakfast was average with muffins, donuts, toast, cereal and waffles.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay. We’re glad you enjoyed the comfort of the bed and that the construction wasn’t a bother to you. The note about the water pressure is being taken into account and we’ll have that looked at as soon as possible. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed on Howard Johnson West Fargo for one night on my way back to cities. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is nice and clean. They have new carpets and furniture. The breakfast was more than what I had expected for a regular continental breakfast. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our location, we are pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness and the new renovations of the carpet and furniture we installed and that the breakfast and customer service was above your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo

Address: 525 East Main Avenue, West Fargo, ND 58078 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn West Fargo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > West Fargo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in West Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo Hotel West Fargo
Days Inn West Fargo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.