We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small town stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The North Dakota Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center

The North Dakota Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center
Intersection of US Hwy 83 and ND Hwy 200A, 2576 8th St SW, Washburn, ND 58577
877-462-8535
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Washburn
Type: Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, History Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great small town stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Gem in the middle of North Dakota don't miss a chance to visit Fort Mandan, well worth your time and I actually liked this stop better. Take a few minutes to stroll along the river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
196 attraction reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
459 helpful votes 459 helpful votes
“Excellent Interpretive Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Visited here last month while vacationing in North Dakota. This interpretive center was celebrating 15 years and so there were a number of visitors, presentations, special exhibits, etc. I thought the center was in a beautiful, modern and well maintained building with a number of exhibits detailing the journey of Lewis and Clark. The exhibits were attractive and informative and there were docents available to answer questions. I love history and learning about the Lewis and Clark exhibition so I found this center to be very worthwhile. I would highly recommend combining this with a visit to Fort Mandan (just down the road) and the Knife River Indian Village Historic Site which is approximately 20 miles away. By visiting all three places, you gain a great deal of information and insight into the history of the area and they complement each other very well. The cost for visiting the interpretive center and Fort Mandan is $7.50 together, but the day we visited the fee was waived. There is a gift shop on the premises.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
“New Exhibits Installed Feb. 2012 - Definitely Worth Checking Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We just visited the Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center and it was very nice. There are many new exhibits... audio excerpts from the expedition journals, video interactives, and more. We learned a lot of interesting things about Lewis & Clark's exploration. Please disregard the post below from 2004 - the facilities have obviously had renovations & new exhibits added since. Definitely worth checking out, enjoy! Found a news story about the new exhibits (below) not sure how long the link will stay active, but try it > http://www.kfyrtv.com/Video_News.asp?news=54823

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
255 attraction reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Good overview of the L&C journey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I visited during July of 2011, when many attractions in this part of North Dakota were closed due to historic flooding on the Missouri River. In addition, the Center was undergoing renovations, so only a few exhibits were available. However, these were well done, and then had great programs going on to make up for lack of access to other areas. When the fort is open and the renovations are done, this will be a great place to stop and learn about Lewis & Clark.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
“Very nice place to visit - lots of history here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I was looking forward to visiting the Washburn area. When we arrived we watched a film on the area. Then looked at the displays. They had Karl Bodmer's paintings that we very much enjoyed. But for me the George Catlin collection was fabulous. He was a frontier artist that painted from the native american's view and was a champion for their causes. While we were there there was also a presenation given by a local man who had much knowledge of Lewis and Clark history. Yes there is a fee, but it is so worth it believe me. And if you love history - you will love this place!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The North Dakota Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to The North Dakota Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The North Dakota Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.