We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and unexpected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yankalilla Hotel Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yankalilla Hotel Bistro
105 Main Street, Yankalilla, South Australia 5203, Australia
885582011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Yankalilla
Restaurant details
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely and unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My family dined here on a Friday afternoon during school holidays. We were surprised that inside it was very quiet- only two other couples, and this meant the food came out quickly and fresh. The service was great and they have a weekday deal menu, which I recommend. The servings are generous, delicious and really good value! We'll be back soon for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Popular with Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The service was quick and friendly. Good value for money on Specials nights such as Schnitzel mania night.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What they can do to a schnitzel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Ordered a chicken parmy schnitzel with chips and salad. You would think it couldn't go wrong!
When it came the chicken was made of some sort of ropy reconstituted meat that could not be cut with the knife or even torn with the hands! I complained and the waitress offered something else or a refund. I told her to tell the chef and a partial refund would do. After waiting at the bar for 15 mins the head waitress told me it was 'not their policy' to give refunds and that the 'chef said there was nothing wrong with it" Never, never eat there is my advice and they need to learn not only customer service, but how to cook a simple meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bland with a capital B”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Atmosphere was crowded and loud. Menu was sparce and unimpressive. Service was slow and abrupt. Food was late (we waited over an hour) and bland. My partner ordered the worst curry he ever ate. Apart from the meat being tough, it tasted like the spice ratio was way off. I ordered the calamari plate. No lemon was served and there was only enough tartar sauce to dip half of my rings into. Oh, and we counted 12 chips on the plate. My soft drink was flat and watery. A big thumbs down. Wasted our time and money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
1,144 reviews 1,144 reviews
586 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
930 helpful votes 930 helpful votes
“Hospitable country pub dining with great atmosphere and daily specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This Is a good country pub, offering hearty food at reasonable prices, with a friendly and hospitable ambience.

You can sit inside or outside.

The menu includes several well priced daily specials.

Well worth a visit when you're in the area!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yankalilla Hotel Bistro also viewed

Yankalilla, South Australia
Normanville, South Australia
 
Normanville, South Australia
Second Valley, South Australia
 

Been to Yankalilla Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yankalilla Hotel Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.