We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willunga Hotel

Willunga Hotel
3-5 Main Street, Willunga, South Australia, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Willunga
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Typical Australian Pub with resturant
Willunga, South Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Character restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This stone walled restaurant in an 1800s building serves good quality and quantity meals. Good variety, consistent standard, cheerful and friendly staff and owners.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Willunga Hotel, Wilunga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great food, excellent service and very popular with locals like us. Known as the Middle Pub in Willunga as it is the middle pub of 3 in this small township.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had lunch here with friends last Sunday and enjoyed a wonderful meal. My husband and I both had Barramundi with Squid and Thai salad and our friends had the Chef's Special which was sirloin steak. Everything was cooked to perfection and was just delicious. My husband and I shared a Sticky Date Pudding for dessert - just divine!! Our friends said their2 steak was beautifully tender. The service and friendliness of the staff was evident from the moment we walked in the door. We have eaten at many different places but I think this is the best. We will definitely come again....hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Went to the willunga hotel on a Sunday night, was a great meal. We had the satay chicken entree, which was a little bland but still worth eating. What really made this meal though, was the main. A 500g black angus rib eye steak, over the most wonderful potatos with bacon I've had in a hotel. The Steak was fantastic, and for a rib eye steak that size, $34 represented great value too. Wine drinkers however, may be disappointed as the wine list is heavily tilted towards shiraz and merlot and whites. Very few options for those that prefer blends or pinot noir. Definitely worth a trip and better than many of the winery restaurants in the mclaren region.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We eat here once a month with friends. The food is excellent and the staff are efficient and friendly. We live locally but our friends live about 20kms away and they always look forward to eating here. Always packed - mostly locals - but have met many visitors to the area here. Recommended.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willunga Hotel also viewed

Willunga, South Australia
Willunga, South Australia
 
Willunga, South Australia
Willunga, South Australia
 

Been to Willunga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willunga Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.