We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time, in a good way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evelyn Homestead

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Willunga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evelyn Homestead
Save
You added Evelyn Homestead to your Saves list
Aldinga Road, Willunga, South Australia 5172, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Willunga B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A step back in time, in a good way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We booked a 3 night stay at Evelyn Homestead to celebrate some difficult deadlines which had been achieved. We loved it from the minute we drove into the spacious garden. Undercover parking with roses in bloom all around us. The cottage was spacious and had an old world feel to it, but with modernised amenities like dishwasher, microwave, modern stove and oven, reverse cycle air conditioning, fans, spa etc. The breakfast provisions were so ample we had extra left over. Every kind of tea you can imagine was in the pantry, along with everything else a well stocked kitchen needs. It was wonderful having our space to ourselves unlike other BnBs where the host is on site too. The spa was delightful and the bathroom so pretty. The Willunga location is so close we could have walked to the Willunga Farmers' Markets the next day, and we were also nearby to Au Pear and Russell's Pizza where we dined on separate nights. Falie went out of her way to make sure everything was ready for us (there was even a special sweet surprise in the pantry). If we had forgotten anything it was to be found at the cottage (eg deodorant, laundry powder). We used the cottage as a base for a fun weekend with trips to the beach to discover the fishermens' caves, a picnic at the Ecotrail Wetlands, wine tastings etc. Falie offered to book our restaurants but we had already done this. Overall we were so happy we have vowed we will 'get away' more often.

Room Tip: We had a little trouble sleeping at first as we have a King sized latex mattress at home, and were p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at the evelyn over the weekend for our anniversary. Just one step in and we felt like we were somewhere else already, which is why we came! The breakfast/food provisions were incredible and we ate to our heart's content. Thank you! There's bathrobes and fluffy towels that will dress you like royalty, and the jacuzzi is such a fantastic experience. We did not want to get out of it. The bedroom was lovely and sheets exquisite. The window might need to be upgraded tho, the weekend was windy and it slammed all night even though they were shut. The tv was massive and channels were plentiful, couches comfy and kitchen appliances not only top notch but easy to wash as well. We couldn't find cookin oil tho!
Overall great experience and will definitely recommend to others!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My partner and i stayed here a few weeks ago! We had the best time! After only 1 night here i was very sad to leave! Faylee the owner was brilliant. There was so much food for breakfast we ate like a king and queen! Hopefully one day we will be back! P.S the spa was brilliant! It felt just like home!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just spent 5 days in Willunga staying at the beautiful and cosy Evelyn Cottage. Nestled in a pretty garden the cottage offered comfortable living and sleeping accommodation. Provisions for a hardy breakfast and facilities to cook or BBQ when not dining out. Super helpful Falie assisted with recommendations and bookings for restaurants. Highly recommend this lovely cottage.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beautiful cottage surrounded by peaceful, serene garden. The Main street was a 3 minute walk away, but once through the driveway gate, you could be miles from anywhere, such a peaceful setting. The bed [1 of 2] was ultra comfortable and the quality linen was a bonus. The pantry was extremely well stocked and the breakfast provisions were fresh and plentiful. Plenty of cafes/ restaurants in Willunga, and McLaren Vale is just a 5 minute drive away providing plenty of wineries and even more food options. We particularly enjoyed our dining experiences at Russell's Pizza in Willunga and Red Poles at McLaren Vale. Sunday Sessions at Tapestry Wines made for a fabulously relaxing afternoon. Thank You Falie for your terrific accommodation, and the warm greeting on arrival was a lovely touch.
Ideal for couples but easily accommodates 2 couples without being in each others space.
The open fireplace would be nice experience in the winter months. We would definitely recommend a visit to Evelyn Homestead.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable cottage, providing every thing you need to just walk in and have a holiday. Lovely outdoor eating area set on a large block with beautiful gardens. Very private and quiet.
Close to Main Street of Willunga and wineries and short distance from the beach.
Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Evelyn cottage was a lovely, spacious, relaxing place from which we could explore the beauty of the area. Willlunga is a very pretty town and cottage is very close to the main street with cafes, shops, restaurants and hotels. A short drive to the beautiful coast and also minutes drive to McClaren Vale wine region. Fit people could walk or cycle along the paths from here to the neighbouring wineries. A lovely comfortable bed, pretty decoration throughout the cottage, full kitchen and laundry, double spa and open fireplace. There is also a spacious front yard which adds privacy, off street parking and a covered area with barbeque out the back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Evelyn Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evelyn Homestead

Address: Aldinga Road, Willunga, South Australia 5172, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Willunga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Willunga
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely Beautiful Accommodation. Just 45 minutes drive from Adelaide Airport and CBD in the stunning McLaren Vale wine and coastal region. Evelyn Homestead's captivating charm and plush interiors blend with early Australian history in this 160 year old homestead. Set on 1800m2 of colourful gardens with magnificent towering gums. Features include.. two beautifully decorated bedrooms with antique brass beds and chandeliers.a sumptuous bathroom with large two person spa, a cosy parlour with leather lounges an open fireplace, a spacious lounge with comfy cream sofas. A large plasma TV, a large dining table that seats up to 8. A separate larder off the kitchen with an old meat safe stocked with gourmet provisions. Laundry, separate 2nd toilet. Large under cover alfresco dining area with BBQ. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Evelyn Homestead Willunga, South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evelyn Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.