We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of sundowner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
sundowner
Whyalla, South Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 restaurants in Whyalla
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Really like the food, but book ahead, even on a week day!
Staff are friendly and patient with kids, and breakfast was really good too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    3
    15
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whyalla, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have been here many times. This place has a very good atmosphere, service staff are friendly and always have a smile on their face. There is a fair amount to choose from off the menu but the menu doesn't seem to change very often. Still the food is yummy. Not to badly priced and a kids menu is available. The meals are quite big and this makes up for the small salad bar that is available.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgmj, Manager at sundowner, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our venue.
The staff that work the bistro floor are an amazing team of people who are able to smile and make our customers feel welcome at all times. I agree that our menu does not change regularly enough - we aim for 3 times a year - but only manage twice a year at present.. It's a very constructive criticism and one that I will share with our Chefs.
We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit our region. Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Generous breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Tasty country style breakfast. Coffee was from a machine but I would have been happy to pay to have someone make one.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great value and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stopped at the Sundowner for lunch on the way through Whyalla. Staff met us as we came through the door with a smile on their face! Despite being very busy, our food came out quickly. It was well presented, very fresh and very tasty. The salad bar was enticing. Great casual dining.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Try the goat stew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As the title suggests the goat stew was excellent. Also the continental breakfast was a generous selection.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sundowner also viewed

Whyalla, South Australia
Whyalla, South Australia
 
Whyalla, South Australia
 

Been to sundowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage sundowner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.