We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eat at Whalers

Eat at Whalers
121 Franklin Parade, Encounter Bay, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
+61 8 8552 4400
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Eat at Whalers. Indulge in million dollar views, salty air & frosty glasses at Whalers. Eat, drink, relax & savour. Titillate your tastebuds. Encounter friendly faces filling your glass. Why don’t you celebrate life!
Gawler, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were booked into an outside table with a great view of encounter bay. Waiting staff were attentive and helpful, meals were scrumptious and beautifully presented.
We have recently moved into Victor and will proudly call this our local.
A great experience for our guests.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    56
    18
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked in here at the last minute, as we were staying nearby and hadn't thought about dinner arrangements in advance. The staff were very happy to accommodate us even though they had several large parties booked. When we arrived they were also happy to change our seating to an outside table as we wanted to take advantage of the balmy night. There was a bit of a glitch because we were then left without service for a while but that was rectified and they were most apologetic. When the food came it was excellent - fresh, innovative combinations of ingredients, all cooked to perfection. It was a lovely night, and the spectacular view made it a dining experience to remember.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Pirie, Australia
1 review
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I went to Eat @ Whalers for his birthday. We had a lovely lunch. We arrived 25 min late than our booked time, and we found our table reserved in a nice spot with a wonderful sea view! the service was great and we felt that the Staff was really looking after us for the whole 2 hours we spent there.
We had the seafood plate and the fattouchi salad + drinks + creme brulee and brownie for desserts. All was well made with a touch of refined cuisine.
We'll definitely go back there again and again !

Fadwa

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced but pleasant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Arrived for a late lunch and the food came out quickly - fattoush salad (a little too much mint but super tasty) and a mixture of battered seafood and chips. The Turkish bread with garlic and rosemary was unfortunately missing the main flavours, but filled my belly. Dessert was lemon tart and seemed like it had just been taken out of the freezer which meant the flavour was muted. The waitress was surprised as she said she'd taken it out of the freezer this morning... The service was good, atmosphere nice (although no air conditioning on a very hot day) although overpriced for what we got.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I have just had the most enjoyable lunch at Whalers. The service by Rhys was impeccable and unintrusive and the food was wonderful. We ate from the entree menu and shared several dishes, all of them excellent but the standout for us was the pepper squid salad with the most wonderful asian flavours and perfectly cooked tender squid. The oysters were fantastic and the prawns were equally enjoyable. We also had the scallops which were tasty and once again perfectly cooked. We both thoroughly enjoyed our lunch and give our compliments to the staff and the chef.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat at Whalers also viewed

Victor Harbor, South Australia
 
Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 

Been to Eat at Whalers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat at Whalers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.