We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish n Chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop

The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop
20 Ocean St, Victor Harbor, South Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 40 Restaurants in Victor Harbor
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Victor Harbor, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fish n Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a recently renovated lovely little shop - best fish n chips in the south, friendly staff, good menu very reasonable priced.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    8
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greytown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I had been eating out for the last 6nights at very swanky restaurants and decided to go cheap. The quality of the fish and chips plus the variety of fish and the friendly young man serving made this a very pleasant visit. Highly recommend.

Sorry about the Romance and Special Occasions markings below , but this is a fish and chip shop!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great chips, battered fish nice but batter not fully cooked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I guess the signs on the windows about being one of the best fish & chip shops in the region are 'out of date'?
Chips however were great but the batter on the fish was a little under cooked and oily.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Should have listened to my wife”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

You know when you walk in somewhere and deep down you know you should turn around and walk straight back out again? Well this was one of those times and when your wife tells you same thing thing - listen to her and go else where.
Walked in and the staff behind the HUGE counter were fighting amongst themselves - nice, and even got to hear them swearing to ! And then you notice just how unkept the place is and could really do with a bit of a clean up.
However we both felt like some fish and a few chips and chose to get some takeaway.
The cost was ok, however for the quality we were expecting better.
Will try other options when we are down next.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renmark, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brings back memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Took my partner son and a friend here to grab some fish and chips to have down the beach for lunch, it was a great feed much enjoyed by all! When I was growing up in Victor we used to grab fish and chips every friday night after shopping and I dont think it has changed in all these years.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop also viewed

Victor Harbor, South Australia
 
Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 

Been to The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.