We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointing, not worth the money spent” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop

The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop
20 Ocean St, Victor Harbor, South Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 38 Restaurants in Victor Harbor
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
1 review
“Very dissapointing, not worth the money spent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent over $70, for tiny little meals, found bones all through the fish, my salad was 2 peices of sliced tomato, 5 peices of white onion, and 1 peice of lettuce, service was good though, very hot day and could not feel the aircon, we were so sweaty. Dont know what all the fuss is about with this shop, 2/10. Way too pricey. Its a fish and chip shop not a 5* restaurant

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    8
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fish & chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Was told to try the fish & chips ,were great large portions very fresh clean oil was used .worth a try for fish & chip lovers ,we had lunch their .is seating inside and out side

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Like fish and chips when you visit the seaside?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It's a bit of a tradition for us. Went with a group of friends and had the flake and chips Which were fairly reasonably priced I thought. They were certainly some of the best I have ever had so I can see they earned their reward. Great to get and then enjoy on the beach. The dining in area looked okay too Though we did not eat there. It is what it is - a fish and chip shop. Why would you go there if you want burgers, and steak sandwiches, yiros, etc. Be prepared to queue for a while at the busier times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed to say the least!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I too would like to know what year they got their Award. As it certainly isnt award worthy when we visited it. I went there on a Friday night at 5:30pm and you would expect they would have everything available on the menu. Only to be told - No burgers, No steak sandwiches, No Yiros, No Chicko rolls, No potatoe cakes and to top it off your ONLY allowed to order $8.00 of chips per order. (Not nearly enough for my three hungry boys, husband and myself). To make matters worse I get home to find half my order missing!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still going strong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

You can dine in but most love the ritual of fish and chips wrapped up to take away and eat on the beach somewhere.
This place has taken pride in being among the best fish and chipperies in the land. It does very good batters, reliable fish of many varieties, and generous quantities of darned good chips.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop also viewed

Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 
Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 

Been to The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.