We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice fish and chips!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop

The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop
20 Ocean St, Victor Harbor, South Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 38 Restaurants in Victor Harbor
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
outback SA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice fish and chips!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Have been here twice now,once we had fish and yummy chips(home made)Then next time hamburgers which were also very nice.In fact the food is great and service fast even when so busy.Much better way to get served standing in a line I think,Would go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    8
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Where is the fish shop in Victor Harbor?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I worked in Victor for 7 days over the last 3 weeks, I have not found this fish shop. I have driven all over the place, trying to find a fish shop.... with no luck!! Even Donna who I met at the Hotel Victor, said that the Victor Harbor fish shop is in Ocean St.. I could not find it !!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had King George Whiting and chips, very expensive, small fish piece. This place had great reviews however we found it over-rated.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not sure about the best in SA but was very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had lovely food with a beach style feel. The workers were polite and friendly and it seemed to be a very popular shop with many others waiting in line for a meal. The chips were homestyle looking and were very nice. If we are in victor harbour I would eat from this shop again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in main street !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012


The Garfish and Chips is my favourite , all of the Fish are caught locally !

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop also viewed

Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 
Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 

Been to The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Victor Harbor Fish Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.