We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“informative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Centre

Penguin Centre
Granite Island | 2 Ocean Street, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
08 8552 7555
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
cockatoo valley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were lucky to see many penguin babies and cygnets. The children found it interesting and fun. We loved the earlier departure for younger children and the effort to address the learning age appropriately.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“See the penguins while you can- an unbeatable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Amazing trip. The penguins are adorable, with funny, eclectic personalities that are just imperative to see if you visit Victor Harbor. Guides are informative, witty and very caring of their feathered friends. Come see the penguins with their volunteers before they are all gone. Food issues and predators are alarmingly dwindling their numbers so come down, see a tour, check out the island and spend a little money at their amazing gift shop, centre or restaurant (with yummy yummy food) and do what you can to help these amazing creatures as well as the wonderful people who dedicate their time to their survival.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Saw 2 penguins after walking around for one hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

It was a disapointing experience. The penguin tour does not start until dusk so we waited a long time and the fee is $12.5 per person. The guide told us the penguin population decreased a lot. There are about 20 on the island. This situation is not the guide's fault but I feel that I should be infromed at booking. We walked around and around for one hour and finally saw 2 penguins.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cute penguins close up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Small attraction with well cared for penguins. Not very expensive - just remember you are paying towards their conservation not for your entertainment value. Very friendly staff - we enjoyed our time there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good photo opportunity's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you want to see penguins, well then I recommend visiting the centre, you'll see hardly any penguins on the night tours any more which I unfortunately learnt after going on one. Watching them feed was a highlight and was able to take some really nice, up close photos.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguin Centre also viewed

Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 

Been to Penguin Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.