We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB-U-LOUS!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Cafe Restaurant Wine Bar

Anchorage Cafe Restaurant Wine Bar
21 Flinders Parade | Victor Harbor, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
85525970
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: Tapas, Australian, Café, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“FAB-U-LOUS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Recommended for dinner by Apollon Motor Inn managers - and well worth it. Obviously the place to go as it was busy, But that did not detract from the experience. The friendly staff found us a table (we hadn't booked), food was beautiful, location lovely, atmosphere great and service was spot on!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Cafe Restaurant Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for the great comments and recommendations. We love to hear that our guests have had a memorable experience and will recommend us to others. Thank you to Apollon for sending guests our way as well. It is great that the businesses work together to promote one another and our lovely town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    44
    53
    17
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

possibly The Best Pork Belly I Have Had. Great Dips And Great Salmon. Great Range Of Wine And Beer. Extremely Pleased.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Cafe Restaurant Wine Bar, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you to the guest for their positive comments. It makes us happy to know we have made your experience with us a very positive one. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just the best Breakfast and Location Location Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Where are these other reviewers going.
We had breakfast on the front verandah over looking the park the sea and Granite Island. Apart from maybe the Bluff Cafe Restaurant I would say this is the best location ever. Where else in the world can you sit in the sun shine, on the front verandah of an historic building where our parents parents would have holidayed and have a massive breakfast for $17 and a coffee for $4.
The young mostly female staff did an awesome job and although a couple seemed to be learning they did a really good job and couldn't have been more polite and pleasant.
We live in paradise in this country and this place is part of it and part of history.
Just love it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Cafe Restaurant Wine Bar, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We do think we have something special here. Thank you for the positive comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Sitting on the veranda with a lovely glass of wine on a balmy summers night is also a treat. We would love to have you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Been to VH several times but never visited here. Took a minute to be acknowledged by staff who were busy chatting to each other. place had nice ambience.prices displayed. Our table was wonky but you get that. Heater was on, not sure why,it was a beaut day.could've had the door open for some fresh air. Breakfast was more than ample but pancakes very dry, maybe more maple syrup please? Milkshake delicious. Staff very friendly.overall very nice but was could have been just a tad better i thought. Also, please cover the muffins on the counter- they looked yum but were right under where customers are talking to the staff..very unhygienic. Having said all that, i would go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, General Manager at Anchorage Cafe Restaurant Wine Bar, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks to the guest for the comments. We were pleased to see you enjoyed your visit and would like to visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A great place where we recently enjoyed fresh delicious food, awesome coffee (beans roasted in house I think), staff were friendly & helpful. Atmosphere was unique & inviting. Indoor & outdoor (beach front) dining too. We sat inside this time but hopefully the sun will be out next time so we can enjoy the lovely ocean view! Loved it so will definitely go back again!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Cafe Restaurant Wine Bar, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you to the guest for their positive comments. It is always a pleasure to serve our customers and try to provide a positive dining experience. We are proud of our house roasted coffee and it is certainly " we think" the best in town and I think a lot of our local and regular out of town visitors will agree. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchorage Cafe Restaurant Wine Bar also viewed

Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 
Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 

Been to Anchorage Cafe Restaurant Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Cafe Restaurant Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.