We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast
69 Whalers Road, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
One night free
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“A Slice of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

'What can we say that hasn't been said before? It's like trying to describe the colours of a rainbow - so pure, so beautiful - words don't even come close. It's the same with trying to describe Close Encounters B&B - there aren't enough words!! Your point of difference, Nell and John, to other B&B's is your attention to detail - providing everything from the toothpicks to the fly swats and the magpie food. The accommodation was supberb, the little extras very thoughtful and the spa bath awesome. We've loved every minute of our stay and feel peaceful and relaxed. Thank you sincerely ..... Nel and Hans.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cl069, Owner at Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for you review of our B & B. We do try and forsee what our guests may need during their stay with us and we are very pleased you loved your stay.
We were also very happy to show you our flower processing operation and the proteas put on a very colourful display at this time of year.
We are currently offering one free night for stays of 4 days or longer if that is an option.
There are also plenty of whales to see only a 15 minute drive from our B & B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Well again we weren't disappointed on our 8th stay. With a cheerful welcoming that makes you feel relaxed right from the start, to the cleanliness and generous supply of provisions & special touches such as flowers, chocolates & biscuits, makes for a very enjoyable & relaxing time away.The hospitality of both Nell & John catering for extra needs or requests as well as the local knowledge & recommendations is always welcome. The bonus of seeing a whale & a pod of dolphins just metres away whilst standing on the breakwater at Granite Island, took our breath away. Well done Nell & John, looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cl069, Owner at Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It was great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us again. Its lovely to welcome you back each time and find out about your exciting travel plans.
We are really looking forward to hearing about your adventures when you next visit..
With best wishes
Nell & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Need a relaxing/romantic holiday then Close Encounters has everything you need. John and Nell have certainly put a lot of thought into this wonderful B&B and are`very friendly hosts. The best B&B we have stayed in, everything is there with all the bells and whistles nothing is missing and provisions for a relaxing, romantic getaway. It's a very peaceful and the views just awesome, birds, ducks and flowers. Well done and we'll be back for another stay. Cheers to you both.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cl069, Owner at Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We strive to meet our guests needs and make them feel very comfortable in our B & B. In addition to the birds, ducks and flowers lately we also have a water fowl in the garden and a small diver in the dam. We are glad you enjoyed the fresh apples from our fruit orchard.
We would love to see you back again to hear how your adventures are going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Nell & John provided an amazing stay.The accommodation surpasses all other B&B accom that we have previously stayed at. There was not one item that we needed that wasn't supplied. The provisions are great. The cleanliness was awesome. Views and location amoungst manicured gardens are magnificent. Nell & John are great hosts and added special touches for our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cl069, Owner at Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We do endeavour to supply all items that are needed to have an enjoyable and relaxing getaway. The proteas are just coming into flower so there are many varieties to view and we do have nursery plants available as well. Being only 1km from the sea and only 3km from the centre of Victor Harbor the many attractions of the area are within easy reach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We decided to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary at Close Encounters B&B after reading all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Wow what a place.We have stayed at lots of B&Bs over the years, Close Encounters is easily the best. Nell and John are lovelly easy to get along with people who take a lot of pride in everything they do. The Villa was spotless, and had everything we could possible need included to make our stay very special.
Freshly cut roses from the garden, a massage each, restaurant voucher, huge spa, four poster bed, freindly birds to feed, fantastic views overlooking the garden beds and sea views, surround sound entertainment system - the list goes on. The attention that has been payed to little things in the villa is outstanding, sharp kitchen knifes, quality towels, bath robes, great selection of Movies, Music and Books ect. Anyone looking for a very special place to spend some quality time, look no further. Close Encounters is as good as it gets. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cl069, Owner at Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Many thanks for doing a review on our B & B. We find many guests are looking to celebrate a special occasion and a 25th Wedding Anniversary is a great milestone. The Massage Package with chocolate dipped strawberries is very popular as the masseur comes to the B & B and guests can relax in the privacy of their own surroundings.
We always try to give our guests a unique experience to have treasured memories.
Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were looking for a fantastic romantic getaway and found our perfect location and experience with Close Encounters. Nell and John are lovelly, down to earth people and were committed to making our stay relaxing, quiet and enjoyable. They also organised a massage for us. Within 24 hours of our first stay we were on the phone booking our second experience with them and we are planning to return for the third. The villa is beautifully laid out, clean and has exceptional views overlooking the manicured flower gardens, farm land, Encounter Bay and ocean views. I highly recommend Close Encounters B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cl069, Owner at Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our property. By having the massage it makes the occasion just that little bit more special and relaxing. We are finding that many of our guests are returning for a repeat visit. We pride ourselves on the attention to detail and endeavour to have everything most guests need for a relaxing break. Whilst there has been no rain for some time the Leucadendrons are turning a brilliant shade of pink and red to highlight the protea gardens.
We hope to see you again during 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casterton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just the best place to rest and recharge the body and mind. Our third visit,so far with more to come. Nell and John are so good to get on with ,that they realy make our stay special. We enjoyed bike ridding in the hill,s, walking the foreshore and dinning out with friends, Close encounters is just the best place to kick back and truly relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cl069, Owner at Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It is always great catching up with you with every visit. Thank you for leaving the B & B in such a clean and tidy condition after your 10 day stay. It really helps us to get the B & B ready and special for our next guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast

Address: 69 Whalers Road, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Victor Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious deluxe self contained Villa set on 5 acres of peaceful native garden overlooking Encounter Bay and rolling hills. Enjoy the romantic 4 poster queen size bed, 2 person oval therapy spa in rain water, full kitchen facilities. Generous full cooked breakfast provisions, chocolates, biscuits and special treats. Minimum booking is 2 nights. Massage , Celebration and Kangaroo Island packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast Victor Harbor, South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Close Encounters Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.