We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not locals but happy customers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Cafe & Take Away

Beach House Cafe & Take Away
62 Franklin Parade | Encounter Bay, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
+61 8 8552 4417
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not locals but happy customers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been coming to Victor Harbor for a summer break for the last five years. Each year, whilst on holiday, we make 2-3 visits to the Beach House Cafe and we have always enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. Yes you order your meals and drinks at the bar and it does get busy but generally speaking the welcome is warm and the staff helpful. There's an interesting range of meals on offer with an unusual combination of either pizzas or Indian curries. Don't ask me how, but it seems to work. The pizzas are good but our preference is for the curries which are authentic and very tasty. If you want a casual, relaxing dining experience in a great beach location then this is the place for you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unless your a local u may as well be invisible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had booked a table to be seated with no table number or cutlery. Then notice in the fine print to order at the bar we get to the bar and the line is huge waiting, waiting, waiting served after 20 mins. Locals came in and seemed to get table service so they order and received there meal while we waited in line.
We are seated at the back of the resturant so close to kitchen and loos.
Couldn't hear my friends at the table very noisy. Food comes out exactly an hour later with no sorry.
Order mixed up and then I question one thing and the bill is brought to me and shown with this is what u ordered if its wrong we can reorder again ahhh and wait another hour I don't think so.
Very disappointed as I said before locals are treated like kings interstate guests can just bugger off!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great local with terrific personality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Enjoyed a great curry night here and went back for the pizza the next night!

Really relaxed setting overlooking Encounter Bay.

Simple but delicious menu serving both curries and wood fired pizza.

Lovely friendly service; nothing too much trouble.

Would love a local like this where we live!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Pizza and curry - amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Who would have thought that pizza and curry would make such good bedfellows! A quaint spot with lots of charm and a warm welcome. Rustic interior with bar to order take away. The restaurant seating is a little spartan but this is soon forgotten as the wood fired pizza specials and/or the curry is served up. Good for teh family but we adults did enjoy. Brought our own bottles but there is an adequate wine list.
Would go back again - often.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolwa, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Pizza night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I enjoyed Wood Oven pizzas with friends at the Beach House Cafe on Saturday night, 3rd November, 1012. We shared 4 large pizzas @ $22 each.Great choice of seafood, chicken and avocada, their own speciality, plus a pepperoni one! It is always very busy and a booking is a must! The food is always delicious and other type of food is also available.
It is noisy, so do not expect to have a conversation with your friends! At times they have live music which is always popular. Again though, for me, it's just too much noise!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House Cafe & Take Away also viewed

Victor Harbor, South Australia
 
Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 

Been to Beach House Cafe & Take Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Cafe & Take Away, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.