We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollon Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Apollon Motor Inn to your Saves list
Apollon Motor Inn
15 Torrens Street, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Esperance, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We called into this Motel late in the evening after a long day of travel from Vic.
The motel is not new but very clean and a well maintained property.
The room had a good queen bed and a single bed ,flat screen tv,toaster ,kettle,
and a microwave.
The owners and staff were very helpful and made us feel at home.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this Motel to any traveller.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jena, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this quiet and clean motel in Victor Harbour, which is one of the loveliest little beach towns we visited. And moreover, the motel is situated only 1 min. walk from the beach, little cafes and shops. We we're welcomed by a very friendly and helpful staff and felt always invited to ask for support or simply have a nice chat with them. Our room was very comfortable and spacious with every little things one could need. We love the retro reception and the tasteful antiques furniture as well as the little indoor pool. We definitely have to come back! Many thanks for the great time!

Room Tip: ^^ no fitness center in the motel, but the pool, the beach and the great ways around the beach invit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

A very functional Motel to stay in. Bed is top class in comfort. Amenities cater well for a light snack in house or brekkie. Spa and pool most relaxing and enjoyable. Reception very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this motel to anyone for a really relaxing break.

Room Tip: Book early when possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Unfortunately this place is extremely dated. There is an overwhelming smell of mustiness and damp in the reception and games room.

The car park is the most difficult I have ever come across. It's supposed to be a Motel that caters for cars but when driving your car around the back to the parking area you need to travel down basically a one way drive, and if someone is coming down it in the opposite direction it would be a stand off as to who is going to reverse to get out of the way, and the buildings, drive, and fencing would make this almost impossible.

Our rooms were very clean, however there was no view from the bedrooms and the family/kitchen area had no windows at all, due to it's design. We needed the lights on during the day otherwise we'd be in near darkness (stayed in 2 room family room $200/night) Quite depressing actually.

The swimming pool is located right near reception, separated by closed doors. The good thing is is that's enclosed and protected out of the weather, not outdoors. I am tall and I found the shallow end too deep and alarmingly, within a couple of steps the water was way too deep. Too frightening for non-swimmers like young children (which I had) They used the spa instead to splash around in.

I found the reception staff friendly and attentive, and I cannot fault them at all.

The location is the best thing as it's located right at the top of the main street (not the Beach end). There is Coles a couple of doors down on one side, and then a very short walk away (and I do mean short) you have the comprehensive shopping centre with Woolworths, Bakeries, Target etc. All extremely convenient when travelling with a young family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Right in the town centre within easy walking distance of main street with Coles and Woolworths near., Large reception area with adjacent indoor pool. the room was clean and functional but rather dull. I feel it was somwhat overpriced for what it was compared to some other motels we used, but our stay was ok.The staff were efficent rather than friendly, I would certianly stay again if for no other reason its central location in lovely Victor Harbor

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

When arriving at reception we asked to check out the room prior to booking. This wasn't possible we were told as the lady was on her own and couldn't leave the desk. Understand that but surely you could allow people to check it on their own. The whole place could do with refurbishing. A real disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I called up today to make a booking for a room for my Partner and I.
I spoke to Maxine who was extremely unhelpful. She could not recommend a room to me which would be suited for the two of us, she then also put me on hold, after coming off hold she proceeded to tell me i shouldn't book in with the Apollon Motor Inn as she said i sound fussy. All because i asked her to please recommend a nice room for the evening. After i asked to speak to the manager she refused and then to make it worse she hung up on me.

I work for a 4 star hotel in Adelaide city and I am shocked at the level of customer service I received, for this reason i will never be recommending this accommodation to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apollon12, Owner at Apollon Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We specialise in mature aged guests.
If you are in the industry so you say, you would know that sometimes there are guests that would just not be happy, especially as you work in a 4 star hotel.
It is great that you have TRIPADVISOR to vent your frustration to the world.
Tell the truth – you did not stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollon Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollon Motor Inn

Address: 15 Torrens Street, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Specialise in 'BABY BOOMERS' accommodation, and the Apollon Motor Inn is a major player in the motel industry in Victor Harbor on the Fleurieu Peninsula. Offering comfortable accommodation, indoor Heated Swimming Pool, family Games Room, and Convention Centre. Located in the heart of Victor Harbor, close to most attractions, including shopping & beaches, a short walk to Granite Island to see the Fairy Penguins or ride on the Horsedrawn Tram 1894 style, and boat cruises to the Murray Mouth and Kangaroo Island. We are members of the Golden Chain Group.We welcome our visitors with a homely genuine friendly service and show our guests an appreciation of Victor Harbor. Off street parking close to the rooms. COME & STAY WITH US!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apollon Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollon Motor Inn Victor Harbor, South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollon Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.