We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice feel, didnt feel like a pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage at Victor Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage at Victor Harbor to your Saves list
Anchorage at Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Flinders Parade, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia (Formerly Anchorage Seafront Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice feel, didnt feel like a pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here one night, I changed my date at the last minute, no problem. Staff friendly and helpful. Our ground floor room had 1 double and 2 singles and was spacious. thankfully no minibar which can be a problem with small kids nagging you. Fridge had icecold water, also a small freezer. Shower good. Location is in the heart of everything. We arrived on the Bike Tour Downunder and everywhere busy and booked, yet it was still quiet in our room that faced the street and ocean. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    77
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
17
111
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

location, location, location..............walk almost everywhere..........safe environment for walking around with off road car parking..........small, older style pub...........we had upstairs spa room with sea views that were clean..........whilst the rooms are small and basic they do have everything you need and it all works....... comfortable double bed and updated spa area..........decor well designed to suit environment...........quiet at night as there were no bands or DJ's which was a bonus...........close doors and minimum noise for sleeping.........friendly helpful staff and good food...........no pub meals, serve upmarket type food.........remember, older style pub, so, if you want all the bells and whistles of a million $$$ resort, look elsewhere........it is what it is and we will return

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The location is perfect, across the road from the ocean and within walking distance of the centre of Victor Harbor and Granite Island.

We had a spa room which has its own private balcony with a corner spa which you can relax in and gaze at the view. The rooms are of average size as it is a heritage listed building however they are clean and comfortable. The staff were very obliging and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We will be back in winter to check out the whales as we heard you can see them from the front of the Anchorage

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We enjoyed the beautiful old building and the four poster bed in our room. The view was stunning from our window and balcony. We appreciated the complimentary Wifi both in our hotel room and the restaurant. During our stage we ate predominately in the Hotel restaurant we really enjoyed the meals and the coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely relaxing holiday we had at the Anchorage Hotel. As I laid in the spa and look out the window to a beautiful ocean view I felt the stress melt away. The bed was comforable we slept peacefully every night of our 5 night stay. Perfect place to long beach walks, shopping visiting the farmers market on Saturday morning. The staff were friendly and experienced, we enjoyed the restaurant food also. We heard it was a new chef, the food was fresh and we loved the Tapas menu.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Anchorage hotel over the New Year and out of the many great places we have stayed this rates right up with the best. With the beautiful views of the seafront lovely hotel room and modern resturant with the high standard
food, the Anchorage is a haven.
The staff were very accomadating and helpful. They soon learn which way we preferred our coffee and even though busy never appeared flustered. We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel was chosen for its outlook and we booked a Queen bed spa room, we were given a double bed with linen and pillows that stank of cigarettes in a purported non smoking room.
Unfortunately the office was closed at checkout 0900 the next day and we could only express our displeasure to a staff member from the restaurant

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage at Victor Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage at Victor Harbor

Address: 21 Flinders Parade, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia (Formerly Anchorage Seafront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage at Victor Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and admire the sea views while soaking in your private spa. Accommodation choices include upstairs private spa rooms with balconies and family suites, ground floor en-suite rooms, traditional bed and breakfast rooms, a self‐contained cottage and apartment with balcony. Ideal for a romantic get away for 2, or a relaxed informal setting for a family, Anchorage can accommodate most requests.The original building, formally a heritage listed guesthouse has been tastefully renovated and expanded to include downstairs heritage style rooms to the more modern upstairs seafront spa suites with private balconies and spas.Most rooms have sea views, tea and coffee facilities, plasma large screen TV with Austar channels, small fridge and a comfortable queen beds. Different styles of rooms have differing bedding configurations to accommodate families, groups, couples and the single traveller.Anchorage Cafe, Restaurant, Wine Bar is open from 8am until late evening 7 days a week.The menu has been carefully designed around fresh local produce and includes hearty breakfasts, fresh baguettes at lunch with homemade soup and crusty bread and fresh salads, char grilled seafood and steak dishes and wood fired pizza for dinner. Open all day for house roasted coffee and cake. Our friendly and motivated staff welcome you to join them for an enjoyable meal on the seafront veranda, alfresco style in summer or in front of the cosy open log fire in the winter.Enjoy a glass of wine or specialty beer served at the unique boat bar, choosing from the exciting wine list or relax by the cosy open wood fire in winter with an award winning house roasted coffee.2 private function rooms are available for a corporate or private function, ideal for family birthdays, anniversaries, small weddings or corporate presentations or meetings. Our chef can accommodate any catering requirements and several function menus are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage at Victor Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anchorage Seafront
Anchorage At Victor Harbor South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage at Victor Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.