We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caution: self-contained apartment is not in The Anchorage” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage at Victor Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage at Victor Harbor to your Saves list
Anchorage at Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Flinders Parade, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia (Formerly Anchorage Seafront Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Caution: self-contained apartment is not in The Anchorage”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

After booking on the hotel's website (I selected 'Self contained apartment' under a heading of 'upstairs rooms'), we arrived for two nights to be told the apartment is not in the gorgeous heritage building shown on the website.

Instead, we were sent to stay a few doors down to an extremely unappealing building, with entry via a shrivelled garden that appeared to belong to the downstairs flat. Instead of overlooking the grass and trees on the foreshore in front of The Anchorage, we could only see the bowling club.

Neither the photos nor the description on the 'Self contained apartment' web page said this was in a different building. I felt very mislead and very disappointed to be staying in such an unappealing and dated property. Had this information been provided, we would not have stayed there.

The positives:
- Clean
- Bathrooms newly renovated/painted
- Even though we had paid for two nights, we were so disappointed with the quality of the accommodation we did not want to stay a second night. When we explained this, the hotel said they would refund us the second night if they managed to let the apartment (although they did not seem surprised at our reaction). We were refunded the cost of the second night, less a $30 admin fee

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Manager at Anchorage at Victor Harbor, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
We were disappointed to hear about the problem with the apartment. This is the first time we have had an issue with the description as I thought "self contained " was self explanatory.
I have adjusted the description to say seperate from main hotel and thank the guest for the comments and drawing this to our attention. On a more positive note most guests that have stayed in the apartment have loved the location, views and the apartment itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    77
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
17
111
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a 5 week trip from the UK to Australia
including stopovers in Hong Kong and Tokyo during October and November.
We travelled from Robe by car and this was one of stops on our trip down Great Ocean Road and on to Adelaide
Stayed for 1 night, in a deluxe queen room with Spa bath.on the first floor. Room overlooking the very popular bowling club and the bay. However our room had a massive tree right in front which did spoil the view.
Very comfortable large room, bathroom decent size and good shower, with separate spa bath..
All the facilities you would want on a long trip, e.g. ironing board, fridge etc
Hotel staff pleasant at reception, check in swift.
Hotel a very short walk down to centre of town and short walk to the causeway to Granite Island, where we'd booked an evening tour to see the little penguins
We had a decent meal in the Tapas style hotel restaurant, although service was very slow.
Breakfast next morning was much better.
Next stop Mclaren Vale

Room Tip: If on first floor make sure don't have the tree!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

A short two night stay after arriving from overseas so needed a confortable bed!!! I got that as well as lovely service, a very clean room and beautiful local wine. Thank you - the whole anchorage team!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage at Victor Harbor, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thankyou for your positive comments. We appreciate constructive comments as they are encouraging and show that we are on the right track in such difficult economic times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great fresh menu selections Lovely view over the esplanade on a balmy Monday evening Pear and rocket salad one of the best I've had. Desserts looked good but I resisted as the whole flounder main course was delicious enough. Great wine list if you choose to linger. Would also be a great spot for breakfast or lunch.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We had one night at the anchorage and got a good deal on wot if. The room was an upstairs sea view qeen bed room which had a separate lounge room and ensuite. The balcony was great for relaxing after exploring the town and granite island. The only issue was a cigar smoker a little further up the balcony. We also had a great breakfast and evening meal at the restaurant. The Anchorage is rightbin the town and a short walk to other restaurants and all the local attractions.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for two nights prior to a trip to Kangaroo Island. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The ambience of the restaurant with its log fire was superb as we're the meals. The rooms were small but very cosy, warm and clean. The best feature of this property is its proximity to the town centre. You don't need to drive! The view of the ocean from the room was fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel to every traveller.

Room Tip: Couples with loads of luggage or kids. Try the downstairs rooms. Fully self contained and very clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you are into accommodation with a heritage feel the Anchorage is a great experience. We stayed in a seafront gallery room with little french doors opening onto the balcony. For a cost of $80 dollars for the room, what value with the view you get included.I was so glad we chose to eat at the cafe/restaurant downstairs. We had oysters,(the freshest Iv'e tasted in a while) garlic prawns and a scotch fillet to die for, while we enjoyed the surroundings of the expensive amount of staff who were so classy, the chef even had a peruse over the guests to see if they were enjoying their meals. I hesitate to give out such a report in case there's no vacancy when I want to return. I love hotels like this that keep our wonderful heritage of South Australia alive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage at Victor Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage at Victor Harbor

Address: 21 Flinders Parade, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia (Formerly Anchorage Seafront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage at Victor Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and admire the sea views while soaking in your private spa. Accommodation choices include upstairs private spa rooms with balconies and family suites, ground floor en-suite rooms, traditional bed and breakfast rooms, a self‐contained cottage and apartment with balcony. Ideal for a romantic get away for 2, or a relaxed informal setting for a family, Anchorage can accommodate most requests.The original building, formally a heritage listed guesthouse has been tastefully renovated and expanded to include downstairs heritage style rooms to the more modern upstairs seafront spa suites with private balconies and spas.Most rooms have sea views, tea and coffee facilities, plasma large screen TV with Austar channels, small fridge and a comfortable queen beds. Different styles of rooms have differing bedding configurations to accommodate families, groups, couples and the single traveller.Anchorage Cafe, Restaurant, Wine Bar is open from 8am until late evening 7 days a week.The menu has been carefully designed around fresh local produce and includes hearty breakfasts, fresh baguettes at lunch with homemade soup and crusty bread and fresh salads, char grilled seafood and steak dishes and wood fired pizza for dinner. Open all day for house roasted coffee and cake. Our friendly and motivated staff welcome you to join them for an enjoyable meal on the seafront veranda, alfresco style in summer or in front of the cosy open log fire in the winter.Enjoy a glass of wine or specialty beer served at the unique boat bar, choosing from the exciting wine list or relax by the cosy open wood fire in winter with an award winning house roasted coffee.2 private function rooms are available for a corporate or private function, ideal for family birthdays, anniversaries, small weddings or corporate presentations or meetings. Our chef can accommodate any catering requirements and several function menus are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage at Victor Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anchorage Seafront
Anchorage At Victor Harbor South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage at Victor Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.