We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ninos

Ninos
17 Albert Place, Victor Harbor, South Australia, Australia
08 8552 3501
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: A Victor Harbor icon which has served fantastic food to locals and travellers alike for well over 30years. Caters for casual meals, functions, celebrations or any reason. Only top quality ingredients, Australian seafood, and MSA approved meat used. Outdoor area, upstairs function area and child friendly and vibrant atmosphere. Open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner, breakfast Sundays from 9am. We are proud to provide full table service, EFTPOS facilities, dietary specific menu options and a very large menu.
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We recently visited this cafe while on christmas holidays, we had not booked but managed to get a table which was great, we found the food fantastic and the service was outstanding, nothing was to much for them and they were always clearing away out empty plates and glasses and checking we were ok, the place was very busy but we never had to wait and felt like the only customers there with the level of service that was provided. will def be back again

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    61
    20
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Above average but not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We took a bottle of wine, $10 corkage was a little steep but we bought a few nice bottles in Mclaren Vale on our travels and wanted to try them. Entree we ordered bruschetta with goats cheese, almonds & prunes which was a delicious flavour combination. Our mains of a prosciutto pizza (overlooked base, toppings ok) and seafood pasta (some seafood overcooked, sauce lacked flavour) were average. Great staff however - friendly, attentive and did the required job. A reasonable meal but not amazing

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“it's worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've been here a couple of times now and haven't been disappointed with the place. The service is good and the food is yummy. Good pizza and check out the Italian job if you're after an impressive dessert. Oh, the coffee and cakes are great too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A surprising find in Victor Harbor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent four nights at Victor Harbor in November 2012. We were expecting to just eat at the pubs, the local Chinese restaurant etc. as you do when you holiday in a small country town. Over coffee on our second morning, we googled dining in Victor Harbor and found a place called Nino's that looked like it had a nice Italian menu. After looking at Google Maps to work out where it was, we discovered we were sitting in it, having coffee! We hadn't noticed the signage as we were walking along the street, looking for somewhere to sit and relax with a coffee. They do great coffee by the way and you have to try a smoothie. The tropical one was delicious. We booked a table for the following night for dinner, as we had already booked into the restaurant at the resort we were staying that night. What a contrast! The resort restaurant, although it served wonderful food and we were there on the one night of the week when they have a deal where you order one main course and get the second one free, was painfully slow when it came to service. Not Nino's. They brought the bruschetta out with-in 10 minutes of ordering it. Beautiful! Lots of lovely fresh tomato, basil, olive oil, a drizzle of balsamic vinegar on the plate, that we mopped up with relish, a hint of garlic and finished off with small pieces of a white, soft cheese. All in all, delicious. Our mains arrived after a short interval. Just enough time to sit and savor the bruschetta. The staff actually apologised for the delay! After what we had experienced the night before at the resort, we didn't see this wait as being a delay.
My friend ordered a gluten free seafood pizza. There was a choice of a 10 inch (regular) or 12 inch (large). He's a big guy, so went for the large one. He allowed me one of the 8 slices. Very, very good. Plenty of seafood, prawns, calamari, fish and a lovely sauce. I really liked it. I ordered Calabrese penne pasta. Lots if slices of salami, some sort of Italian sausage chopped into pieces, bacon, onion, capsicum, tomato all in a very tasty sauce with tomatoes, red wine and garlic. The whole dish worked well and left a pleasant after-taste.
My only criticism would be that after a while, the pasta started to become a little repetitive. Perhaps the wait staff should think about suggesting ordering a side salad when some-one orders a pasta dish. It just needed some other flavours and a bit of freshness from a crisp salad to break up that monotony. But it's only a small quibble. Oh, and perhaps and small bowl of Parmesan cheese on the table, rather than the waiter grinding it over your food? I would have liked to have added more when I was about half way through. Then again, I could have asked the waiter to come back over, I guess.
Overall, however, we thought the dinner was excellent and we will certainly eat there again when we return to Victor Harbor in January. Nino's must be doing some-thing right! They were fully booked on a Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday night at the end of November. And they were just the nights that we were in Victor Harbor. My guess would be that they are fully booked most nights. Pretty good for a small country town. There wouldn't be too many restaurants and cafes in Adelaide that could boast that!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Hidden surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Went through an arcade and there it was - a lovely place to have lunch. The service and food were very good. Others must think so too because there were quite a few in. A bit plain in the decor but made up for with the food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ninos also viewed

Victor Harbor, South Australia
 
Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 

Been to Ninos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ninos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.