We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality & space” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strath Motel

Save Saved
You added Strath Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strath Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   4 North Parade, Strathalbyn, South Australia 5255, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Strathalbyn
Denmark, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality & space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our first impression of the whole Strath Motel complex was of cleaniliness and space. Our twin room had plenty of space with quality fixtures and fittings throughout. The bathroom was enormous with separate bath and shower. The beds were firm but comfortable. Loads of power points. The staff were friendly and very helpful.The local Commercial Hotel offers special dining nights - $12 Sunday 2-course roast, Tuesday $12 fish & chips (3 choices), both meals with salad and vegetable bar. Cafe Ruffino has $15 pasta dishes (large) and the pizzas (4 sizes) are very tasty. I would recommend staying at the Strath. It's only a short drive south to the coast or Langhorne Creek wineries or north to the McLaren Vale wineries. We found it cooler than Adelaide this summer (2013).

Room Tip: Twin rooms can be requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Strath Motel and that you were able to explore the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
27
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for six nights at the motel and enjoyed the cleanliness of the room and very friendly staff.
The bathroom was large and had sun light filtering through the glass, and was well ventilated.
On arrival, as requested, we found plates & cutlery in our room. The outdoor seating area had a beautiful view of the hills and enjoyable to relax during the evenings.
The motel is situated closer to the picturesque town and within walking distance to shops and restaurants.
The breakfast ordered on the day we were leaving, was on time and very well prepared and presented.
We booked the Family Room expecting two separate bedrooms as described on the website. Instead, was surprised to see a king size bed on one side of the lounge, dining area and only one separate bedroom. As two couples, we did not have the privacy of two individual bedrooms.
But with the professional and friendly service extended by the staff, it was a minor issue.
I will highly recommend Strath Motel to anyone who prefers a modern hotel with quite surroundings and staff willing to attend to your needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Great to hear that your group of 4 enjoyed the facilities of one of our family rooms for 6 nights. It is very satisfying to receive such comments as the new Management Team and Staff of Strath Motel endeavour to make sure that every guest has a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Most recommended
Freindly stuff, great rooms.
Clean and comfortable
We had a family room and we loved it
Since we got late, the key was waiting for us.
They did not even ask for our credit details while booking
And the town it self was also a great surprise.
We recommend spending some time at this very special town

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Busy times in Strathalbyn at Christmas. We are very happy that you found the motel and indeed the town to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

What a surprise. I found this motel by chance and it is now permanently in my list of must stay at properties. Huge well appointed rooms with a lovely outdoor area. The owners are friendly and very helpful. It is rare that a motel actually measures up to the "on-line" photos and descriptions, but this motel is even better than the photos and descriptions. The town itself is lovely and it is worth just wandering around it and enjoying the picturebook setting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
So glad you found our motel to you liking. Our aim is to create a memorable experience for every corporate and holidaying guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had a wedding to attend in Maccesfeild and stayed in the family room for one night. Very large rooms with excellent amenities. Friendly check in and will be definitely staying there again. Rooms are very modern and clean. Although I didn't use it the spa looked good and should have been taken advantage of.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the two bedroom rooms it gives you more room to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to utilize the larger family room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great motel in a fantastic little town. Rooms large and airy with small ouside area off each with table and chairs.
Owners & staff very friendly, breakfast was included and was delivered promptly, with a smile, each morning. It's a very easy stroll into Strathalbyne, a very pretty and friendly town.
Terrific place to use as a base to visit the many wineries in the region.
I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: No problems with any rooms (I was with a group of 5 friends, each with a seperate room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are glad your group enjoyed your stay. Strath Motel is an ideal venue for small to medium sized groups. We have many groups stay including sporting teams, car/motor cycle clubs and wedding parties/guests. The structure and set up of the motel allows the flexibility of room configuration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a lucky break, travelling towards Kangaroo Island, using an iPad to search for accommodation and liked the 'on-line' look of the Strath Motel.
Very modern, spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed.
The manager cheerfully offered advice on eateries and provided direction and distance as "five minutes walk that way".
We ended up spending most of the next day in the pretty little town of Strathalbyn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thanks for the kind comments posted. At Strath Motel we make every effort to go above and beyond the requirements of all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Strath Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strath Motel

Address: 4 North Parade, Strathalbyn, South Australia 5255, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Strathalbyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Strathalbyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strath Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near new motel, all ground floor units, all king beds, LCD TV, microwave, toaster, bath & separate shower, tea & coffee facilities, bar fridge, iron/ironing board, outdoor balcony to each room. Close to cafes wineries, art trail, craft shops and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Strath Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strath Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.