We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something worthwhile on a sunday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier hotel

Pier hotel
34 Tasman Terrace, Port Lincoln, South Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 25 Restaurants in Port Lincoln
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Something worthwhile on a sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Great sunday BBQ seafood lunch $5 per item, but an item is 4 prawns, not 1. Fish is fresh. Salad included. Guy on guitar

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nailsworth south australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great views, ordinary food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Went here on someone else's recommendation as the best place for a schnitzel in town, it wasn't ! Yes it has a great location over looking Boston harbour, however the chicken schnitzel was over cooked and burnt on one side. The decor is in urgent need of an update. A very overpriced disappointing experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Dinner in Port Lincoln”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Dinner with family and friends. There was a very long wait for our meal however we spent the time waiting in the front bar listening to the band rather than sit at our table. Meals were quite large, I had pizza which was fine. There was a bit of a mix up with the kids meal and the waiter was very apologetic. Food and wine were what you would expect from a pub. Generally good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Value for the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a great time at The Pier Hotel. The staff were so pleasant and very accommodating. We didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised to discover a heritage building with charm and character. We were situated at the back of the building which made for a very pleasant and peaceful night's slumber. The kitchen is perfect for making quick light lunches and simple dinners. There is no stove only a toaster, microwave, fridge and kettle. But breakfast items such as cereal, tea, coffee, milk, juice, bread and spreads are provided all day long. We loved our stay here and would definitely come again. Our room came with a small fridge which made is perfect for wine and other snacks. We have nothing but great things to say....it may not be for everyone but it sure was perfect for us!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Noisy Nights, Blissful Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here on Friday night. Food is delicious and menu varied. The bare floorboards and popularity made for a very noisy evening. Came back the next morning for breakfast. Amazing food, lovely views over the bay and fantastic service. Highly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier hotel also viewed

Port Lincoln, South Australia
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 
Port Lincoln, South Australia
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 

Been to Pier hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.