We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views, ok food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Fish Cafe

The Flying Fish Cafe
1 The Foreshore Road, Port Elliot, South Australia 5212, Australia
(08) 8554 3504
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Port Elliot
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,573 reviews 2,573 reviews
1,450 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 342 cities Reviews in 342 cities
1,150 helpful votes 1,150 helpful votes
“Great location and views, ok food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Have been many times and always enjoyed the view and turquoise waters - perhaps the food was not as good as we remember from the past but it was still enjoyable , very efficient service and a good range of quality wines at reasonable prices.
Perhaps a little expensive for the quantity - only 2 pieces of whiting with the battered fish and chips - but we were to meet local friends rather than a gourmet experience and we all went away happy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    39
    16
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenelg, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Second Anniversary Dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Tonight we returned to the Flying Fish Restaurant for our 2nd Anniversary (we held our wedding reception in the flying fish restaurant in 2012) and were completely devastated by the experience!
We were in and out within 45 minutes due to the terrible excuse for what passes as food in the 'a la carte' restaurant. First we tried the salt and pepper squid, instead of beautiful fresh local squid we received flavourless processed squid but the worst was yet to come. My husband and I ordered the steak, what I was looking forward to was a delicious eye fillet but instead received something overcooked that after a few tiny mouth fulls left the most disgusting sour taste in my mouth for hours!!! Unsure of how the 'chef' managed to achieve this, as a chef myself I can only guess it was an extremely old cut of meat which had been cooked prior to service and left sitting in the bain-marie for hours!!?! The scallop potatoes- more like hassle back microwaved potatoes were under cooked with absolutely no colour/caramelisation?!? Again not sure how the 'chef' managed to achieve this unless they were literally microwaved also what should have been the best part of the dish the 'jus' was a watery stock.
All in all it saddens us both greatly that such a gorgeous little restaurant has fallen so far, it goes without saying we certainly won't be returning nor will any of our family or friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Coffee on the South Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We are regular visitors to the South Coast and have tried many coffee establishments. We are always very happy with the quality of the coffee at The Flying Fish. However, we find that a particular barista is much more consistent with her coffees. We would highly recommend the Flying Fish for any coffee loving person!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mmmmm seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

View
Friendly service
Coopers (and good winelist)
Beer battered whiting
Salt and pepper calamari

All ingredients to a great lunch

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Family Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed at Pt Elliot over Xmas & having been to the Cafe before pre booked an early evening meal We were given a window seat with great views.Service was prompt & very friendly nothing was too much trouble Everyone commented on how good their meals were. BYO $15 is reasonable
although they have a wide wine list. Once again we were impressed

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Fish Cafe also viewed

Port Elliot, South Australia
Port Elliot, South Australia
 
Port Elliot, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 

Been to The Flying Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Fish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.