We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has it all !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklands Heritage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Elliot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brooklands Heritage B&B
Save
You added Brooklands Heritage B&B to your Saves list
60 Heysen Road, Port Elliot, South Australia 5212, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 4 Port Elliot B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“This place has it all !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beautiful place and it is absolutely stocked with everything you need for a great stay; wines, chocolates, fresh & good quality breakfast stuff. It also has great views and a very friendly Labrador called Archer, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklandsheritage, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay enough to want to return some day! I'll email separately with details of our discounts for returning guests. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What fantastic value for money! A lovingly restored stone cottage with fantastic views of the coast and set in a wonderful lavender garden. We had kangaroos visit each morning as well as the gorgeous Archer, a very friendly Lab. Delicious local produce for breakfast, wine and chocolates. What more could there be......We didn't want to leave! A truly amazing 20th wedding anniversary gift to ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklandsheritage, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for making the time to review us. Very much appreciated. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a happy 20th anniversary together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very impressed with the attention to detail. Fire was on and music playing when we arrived, fabulous, high quality local foods in very well stocked kitchen - even chestnuts and marshmallows to roast over fire in the evening! Could not fault it in terms of comfort and location. A romantic get away well worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklandsheritage, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and a romantic winter's evening curled up by the fireside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Excellent B&B. Great value for money and a lovely host. Definately a must if in Elliot. The rooms were delightful, and there was even a bottle of wine for us on arrival. We had a lazy night roasting marshmellows and sipping wine over-looking the ocean from the front porch. You will be graced with the presence of the lovely dog Archer who will be more than happy to hoover any left overs of breakfast that you couldn't possibly fit in!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklandsheritage, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We really appreciate the time and effort involved in reviewing us and can't thank you enough. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. It sounds as if Archer did too! Archer, for the information of other readers, is an extremely friendly 8-year old Golden Labrador. However, his company is optional! We can keep him away from the cottage gardens if you'd prefer not to have him around. He is never under any circumstances allowed inside the cottage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

What an outstanding b&b... Attention to detail is incredible with everything thought of and catered for. The open fire place with port and chocolates is divine. The breakfast supplies are very generous and of the highest quality. The spa is lovely. This is the ideal romantic getaway, private, beautifully presented and perfect in every way! The farm is stunning with views of the coast and a friendly family of kangaroos often to be seen. This is without a doubt the best b&b I have stayed in (and there have been many). I will definitely stay again and again. Thanks for a perfect getaway!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments Anna. Glad you enjoyed the kangaroos! Come again in July or August and you can enjoy the whales too! Southern Right whales are realy close inshore this year, just 5 minutes from the B&B. It's shaping up to be the best season ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

In two years of traveling, 5 continents, countless hotels, guesthouses and lodges, Brooklands is by far the best place we've stayed. It's beautifully restored cottage in an secluded location with great sea views, lots of wildlife run by thoughtful and dedicated owners. They have thought of everything - chocolates, port, jazz music playing on our arrival, crackers, dips, wine, very generous breakfast supplies and binoculars for viewing the local wildlife. We saw two kangaroos in the field next to us on our first morning. We would definitely recommend it to others and really do hope we can return again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklandsheritage, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Many thanks for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our cottage, its facilities and the wildlife. It won't be long now before the annual migration of Sothern Right whales to the breathtaking coastline just a few minutes drive from our B&B cottage. They can often be seen within 100 metres of the shore during the winter months, especially during July and August. Perhaps that would be a good time of year for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

After spending two wonderful lazy and indulgent days and nights at Brooklands Heritage B&B, Port Elliot, we came away feeling rested and relaxed. Host Tony Fawcus and his wife have established a wonderful haven for a getaway that is not too far from Adelaide but still is located in rural surroundings. Wonderful provisions were left in the cottage for us made up of gourmet breakfast foods and fruits, locally made dips, biscuits, chocolates, port and a even a bottle of wine. The garden surrounding the cottage is quite lovely and we spent time outside watching the bird life, such as blue wrens and at dusk seeing rabbits, roos and even several foxes. During the day we were kept company by some of the cows and horses on the property and were often visited by "Archer" the Labrador. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklandsheritage, Owner at Brooklands Heritage B&B, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
So glad to hear you enjoyed the local provisions, cottage gardens and abundant wildlife! Brooklands is, as you say, a peaceful haven. It is sometimes hard to remember that we are only just over an hour's drive from Adelaide and on the doorstep of the holiday attractions of Port Elliot and Victor Harbor. Only a week or two ago I was watching two young bunnies at one end of the lawn, a pair of wood ducks with five ducklings at the other, and Archer lying stretched out between them in the sunshine with one eye open. With the sea beyond and the hills behind, it made a peaceful scene away from the cares and worries of this sometimes troubled world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooklands Heritage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Heritage B&B

Address: 60 Heysen Road, Port Elliot, South Australia 5212, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Elliot
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elliot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This self-contained State Heritage listed cottage resonates with the spirit of a bygone age. Unwind in comfort with en-suite double candlelit spa, reverse cycle air conditioning and panoramic sea views. The perfect romantic getaway for two, nestled in 65 acres of farmland an hour from Adelaide, this charming cottage has four main rooms and is surrounded by private landscaped gardens. Silver Medallist in the de-luxe accommodation category of the 2009 SA Tourism Awards. Independently awarded 5 Diamonds by the Australian Accommodation Diamond Rating Scheme, as being luxury accommodation with good facilities and amenities and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brooklands Heritage B&B Port Elliot, South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklands Heritage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.