We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend - just awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port Elliot Bakery

Port Elliot Bakery
31 North Terrace, Port Elliot, South Australia, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Port Elliot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Phone / Fax 08 8554 2475 Port Elliot Bakery has been in continuous operation for over 100 years and has the original wood fired ovens out the back. Lots of different treats can be found at the popular bakery from rich meaty pies, flaky vegie pasties to berlinas bursting with jam. To drive past is to miss out on one of SA's culinary delights. Open 7 days a week, 7.30am - 5.30pm
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Long weekend - just awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lunch for 5 - yummo. Pies, Chicken Parcel, Veg Pasty and desserts.

The line out the door is always a good sign here, the food is great. Even though the line is long, they have plenty of staff on hand and the line moves quickly.

Our Chicken Parcel was cold, the other (hot) food piping hot. The donuts and Beinstick were devine. Their coffee is pretty good too. Add a chocolate donut into the mix and I'm in heaven!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    23
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best pies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent two days in Port Elliot and we came to this bakery multiple times! Delicious pies - meat, veggie, and cheese pies of all assortments. Can get crowded during certain times but service is fast and friendly enough. During one of our visits, we realized afterwards that we didn't receive change for the purchase. The staff apologized and let us know they would view the camera footage to determine what happened. We could not wait for them to rewind and view the footage as we had an appointment and had to leave town, but sure enough, they viewed the video footage and we received the $7 owed in the mail! Amazing. Hope to come back here again sometime!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had never seen a line out the door of a bakery until now. The pies and sausages rolls are delicious and the bread is beautifully soft. A great place for a feed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"So Good"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The chunky steak pies at this bakery are the best around and the pasties are good too. On a recent visit we tried the chunky steak and spicy mushroom filled pie and it had a real spicy kick to it...yumm.. You can have a wait if you visit during the lunch time rush, but the staff have the orders filled in quick time and it is well worth the wait. The sweet treats are also really good. We especially like the apricot filled yeast turnover. The baker is very generous with the amount of apricot filling in this bun and it is always on our list of must haves when we visit here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Too greasy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Everyone raves about this bakery. After three visits, I'm not impressed. Service is fast but very impersonal. Food tastes good but is so greasy, soaking through the paper bag and leaves a greasy film in your mouth. There are better bakeries close by. Try the one in Dawson Street Goolwa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Elliot Bakery also viewed

Port Elliot, South Australia
Port Elliot, South Australia
 
Port Elliot, South Australia
Port Elliot, South Australia
 

Been to Port Elliot Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Elliot Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.