We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and quality food and coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluey Blundstone's Blacksmiths

Bluey Blundstone's Blacksmiths
30/32 Stuart Street, Melrose, South Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Melrose
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Character and quality food and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here initially in search of decent coffee but it turned out to offer surprisingly more than expected. Good coffee was had on our first visit and we were also delighted by the preserved elements blacksmith building. On our second visit we had a cooked breakfast from their extensive menu. Large, quality serving meals served in a quirky yet delightful setting. Worth exploring!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    2
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Terrific”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Really impressed with the friendliness of the young girl who works there. A great example of how one should be in hospitality. They do food plus coffee etc and a nice place to sit and enjoy the quietness. The history of the shop is also worth exploring.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumbi Umbi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

On a cold day the hot coffee and hot chocolate was very much appreciated. Loved the history of the blacksmiths shop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Barker, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not enough staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in Melrose for 3 nights and had a terrific time. We had driven passed the old blacksmith's shop each day but never had time to step inside for a coffee. However on our last day (Sunday) we decided to call in. In hindsight, we probably shouldn't have.
It took 1 hour and 20 minutes to have our 2 coffees and a muffin served to us.
To the defence of the staff, they were very busy and over run with customers. Many I presume were from the wedding that was held in Melrose the day before.
However I would guess that the owners are locals, so they should have known that there was probably going to be an influx of customers that morning.
I saw at least 5 different couples, cancel their order and leave. Many had been waiting for hours and were visibly annoyed and angry.
I also saw the waitresses mixing up orders. And when we finally got our coffee it was all spilled.
A real shame, because the place has real character and enormous potential.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful and quirky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is an original blacksmiths shop. It is a Heritage site dating back to the mid 19th century.The front blacksmiths shop is full of old equipment and artefacts with a cafe/coffee shop behind with more seating outside in the rear garden.The walls are thick old stone with mud/pine walls at the rear.
We arrived by accident because of being delayed in north Adelaides traffic.
We were warmly welcomed and it was explained what was available. We had sandwiches made with home made fresh bread.All with freshly made fillings. They were excellent. Sitting in the sunshine looking at this quaint old building eating these delicious sandwiches was a real pleasure.
Melrose lays close to Mount Remarkable National Park. It dates I believe from about 1840.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluey Blundstone's Blacksmiths also viewed

Melrose, South Australia
Wirrabara, South Australia
 

Been to Bluey Blundstone's Blacksmiths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluey Blundstone's Blacksmiths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.