We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kay Brothers is a must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kay Brothers Amery Vineyards

Kay Brothers Amery Vineyards
Kays Road | P.O. Box 19, McLaren Vale, South Australia, Australia
0883238211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 43 Activities in McLaren Vale
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kay Brothers is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Amazing wines,great service and always our No.1 Winery

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Grenache Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The wines here are wonderful. The grenache is one of the best I've ever had, and the staff are wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth the drive for the atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Kay Brothers oozes tradition. The wines are very good and the view across the valley is beautiful

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of our favourites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This is one of our favourite wineries in McLaren Vale and I recommend you take the drive out there to visit colin. The setting is beautiful with a lovely old winery cellar door in the original winery building and stunning views across the valley and vineyards. We never leave empty handed and I suggest you get some of the basket pressed Shiraz which is reasonably priced and also the Grenache which is that divine purple colour and rich in fruit mmmmm!!! Of course there are so many other wines to try that you will love. Certainly one winery not to be missed.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“knowledgeable staff and good wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

Cellar door staff are very helpful and if you're lucky you get the family members who have been on the vineyard for generations. Lots of old timer stories and historical facts about the process of making the wines and how they have changed to suit current demands.

Very tasty wines esp their shiraz, well aged, nice balance and not too heavy on the tannins, enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kay Brothers Amery Vineyards also viewed

McLaren Vale, South Australia
 
McLaren Vale, South Australia
McLaren Vale, South Australia
 

Been to Kay Brothers Amery Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kay Brothers Amery Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.