We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, nice setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chapel Hill Winery

Chapel Hill Winery
Corner Chapel Hill and Chaffey's Road, McLaren Vale, South Australia, Australia
61 8 8323 8429
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 43 Activities in McLaren Vale
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good, nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

i didn't love the wine. this used to be one of the top places in McLaren Vale. people were nice. the clients had a bit of that stuck up winery feel.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What great cellar door staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Tottered off to Chapel Hill winery the other week. Having stayed there once thought might be worth another visit. (BTW what a fab accomm venue).

Anyway, the cellar door staff at Chapel Hill are really excellent, almost hard to beat.... they are personable, informative, really good at reading the group. With no pressure to buy (you know that feeling of obligation) we bought quite a few bottles just because it was a good experience.

The building is a little enclosed and could do with some warmth/ life.

The wines are great, they have some reasonably priced and great drinking white.

Without a doubt do yourself a favour and have a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were so pleased we made time to visit this unique winery. Tessa knew her wines and we felt confident in making various purchases. The Tawny called The Devil was especially good as was the Grenache and the Blended White.
The atmosphere and character of the place lent itself to a very relaxing morning.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great reds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This cellar door is situated in an old Chapel so full of character. We only tried a few of the heavier reds; it had been a long day already!
Most notable were the Shiraz and the surprise of the day was their Cabernet Sauvignon - strong but refined tannic structure, good fruit/acid balance. I could think of nothing else but rare T-bone steak when I tasted this wine.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“How do they cope!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited on a Sunday and it was packed but the staff managed to get around everyone with cheerfulness and attention to each individual. Chapel Hill wines have had a great reputation for years but, unfortunately, are not readily available in the big liquor barns. For these you will need to go cellar door or to the independent bottle shop so definitely put the cellar door on the list.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapel Hill Winery also viewed

McLaren Vale, South Australia
McLaren Vale, South Australia
 
McLaren Vale, South Australia
McLaren Vale, South Australia
 

Been to Chapel Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapel Hill Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.