We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cellar door views and wines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hugh Hamilton Wines

Hugh Hamilton Wines
94 McMurtrie Road, McLaren Vale, South Australia 5171, Australia
+61 (0)8 8323 8689
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 43 Activities in McLaren Vale
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hugh Hamilton Wines is a 'must see' winery in McLaren Vale. Set on a ridge line it provides nearly 360 degree 'stunning' views of the McLaren Vale wine region. The wines are all estate grown and include the main stream varietals such as Chardonnay, Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Merlot plus the unusual varieties including White Frontignan, Viognier, Pinot Grigio, Sangiovese, Petit Verdot, Tempranillo and Saperavi. All wines have fun names and include The Trickster, The Scallywag, The Loose Cannon, The Rascal, The Villain, The Ratbag, The Mongrel, The Scoundrel, The Nutter, The Floozie, The Strumpet, The Oddball, and The Madam. Visitors from overseas are all welcome.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best cellar door views and wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Did a McLaren Vale tour on the weekend - Hugh Hamilton wines was the standout cellar door, by a wine country mile. Firstly the view from the cellar door is magnificant, go for the best view in the area.

Now to the wines, all are great wines are coupled with excellent information, helps make one an instant wine expert. It is hard to find such a good rose - it is great as is the sangiovese as is the tempranillo. The names are great, a laugh and wine is a great combination.

It is also kid friendly - bonus for relaxed tasting!

I suggest go now! Only suggestion would be great to have a sit down glass with a cheese plate as the view is fantastic.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We could not have asked for anything better. The views across the grape vines are spectacular, with a 360 degree view, you miss nothing. The staff members are so friendly, and even more importantly, actually know what they are talking about. The range of foods available are fabulous and so tasty, fresh and unique. And those quirky gifts with sheep and rams are worthwhile, I can't get my wife out of her "madam" t-shirt. Thank you for the experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to visit in Mclaren vale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great wines at reasonable price. The setting of the cellar door is really amazing with great views of the vinyard. Loved the wine glass n other humorous merchandise...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sensational wines at reasonable prices, with a scenic cellar door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

High Hamilton Wines has some excellent wines - many of which received 90+ points by James Halliday in 2012. You can expect to pay $20-$30 for some really good red wines, which made perfect gifts for Christmas!
We took some friends from Denmark there and they were very impressed with the gorgeous, round, glass windows and views of the vineyards. They have a lot of great marketting strategies too - lots of the items for sale are well presented and make great souvenirs or gifts.
The dampner on our visit was that one of the samples of foods didn't had an obvious label to indicate that it was very spicy, and so one of the girls was in a lot of pain and couldn't taste any wines after that! We gave them the feedback and they commented that she's not the first person it's happened to so *hopefully* this small hiccup will be rectified by now.
Overall, a beautiful cellar door with great reds (I'm not a white drinker). Not to be missed if you love your reds and are touring the region!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6372, Owner at Hugh Hamilton Wines, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi 'Kicking the Bucket List',

Many thanks for visiting us in December 2012. We appreciate your visit and your positive review. Your friend is not the first to be caught by the Chilli Fire condiment. Perhaps we should have called the Fire Brigade for her! Ever since we have been tasting it we have put a warning sign alongside this dip but it is sometimes missed in the buzz of being here.

We'd be delighted to see you and your friends back here when you next visit McLaren Vale.

Keep on Kicken'!

Cheers

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Home of great red wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Want something to do while in South Australia? Well make sure you visit our wine regions.Want to sample some great red wines,start at Hugh Hamiltons Winery in Mclaren Vale.one of the best cellar doors in the region, knowledgable staff in a friendly atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6372, Owner at Hugh Hamilton Wines, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
G'day Ian,

Many thanks for your review on our winery. We very much appreciate you visiting us in December. Call in again when you're in McLaren Vale.

Cheers

Hugh

P.S. That's a great fun outfit you're wearing in your Trip Advisor picture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugh Hamilton Wines also viewed

McLaren Vale, South Australia
McLaren Vale, South Australia
 
McLaren Vale, South Australia
McLaren Vale, South Australia
 

Been to Hugh Hamilton Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugh Hamilton Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.