We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Currant Shed

The Currant Shed
104 Ingoldby Road, McLaren Vale, South Australia 5171, Australia
08 83830232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 42 Restaurants in McLaren Vale
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in a restored 1916 currant drying shed and set amongst a Tahitian lime grove and borded by vineyard, The Currant Shed restaurant serves regionally inspired lunches in a truly relaxed environment.Open Thursday- Tuesday for lunch Kitchen hours 12-3pm.
Glenelg, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still the place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Once again, we returned to the Currant Shed and once again everything came together to make it a perfect experience. Although in the midst of preparation fro an intimate garden wedding, the FOH staff and the kitchen served up the usual excellent food, wine and ambience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, interesting menu and good service make this a pleasure but some minor tweaks needed we thought.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Three of us had lunch here on a very hot Thursday. We were warmly greeted and asked if we wanted to sit by the windows or nearer the aircon. We opted for a window setting and were glad we did as we saw the beautiful gang of blue wrens who call this place home having a midday snack. However it did get a big warm here as the day progressed and the temp increased to 38C. Keep this in mind if you want a later lunch on a hot day.
We opted for their pâté to share which was served with 2 types of bread $18 and plenty of it for the three of us, and was delicious. Our mains were the Angas beef with prawn a delicious jus and bernais sauce $38, which was a good sized serve and a beautifully presented and tasty meal. My husband tried the Cassoulet with crab, fish, cockles, and prawns $38. This was served in a bowl with a sauce and pine nuts, and was a very small serve meal, unlike any hearty cassoulet we have had overseas. This was a real disappointment as most of the cockle shells were empty and the crab claw was removed using the waitresses fingers so it could be cracked in the kitchen as there were no crab claw crackers available. However, the overall flavour was delicious, but we could not say it was value for money or a reasonable serve at $38.
Dessert was a hit with poached apricots, cake and crumble $15 very delicious.
Dowie Doole Chenin blanc $38 was a good accompaniment, as was the lime cordial for our non drinker.
We love this restaurant for its setting and wonderful service and staff, but as the prices climb and serves are as small as the cassoulet and previously the duck, one has to say that the lowered value for money is starting to outweigh the pleasure of dining here when there are now so many restaurants in McLaren Vale doing such good things.
Would recommend but ask about the size of meals before you order.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quality food and wine. Friendly service and great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The pricing is not cheap but the food was great. My salmon portion was quite small but it was cooked perfectly.

No air con but concidering it was a very hot day it was not too bad inside.

The staff were all lovely and professional.

Highly recommend

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Noarlunga, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome Way To Spend a Sunday Arvo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Love it, drinking good wine, eating good food and looking out on the Vines and Lime Trees. Such a cruisey place. The French Lady is so friendly, Thanks for the Great Day, will definitely do it again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Unlike our previous experiences at this restaurant which were VERY GOOD it appears there has been some changes since we were last there. The service was average - waiting 25 minutes for extra bread after such a small portion was given with the pate ( and pate was also not anywhere near as good as it once was). Size of serving was VERY small for duck (shocking reminder of the 80's), rabbit was dry and not enjoyable to eat - no apologies from the waitress when she realised that the sauce was missing or not in adequate presence - a poor oversight since this was a 37 dollar dish.
As another reviewer wrote we decided not to stay for desert - I couldn't imagine it was going to be any better than the mains.
This was once a great restaurant - wine was still good, scenery also - however will unlikely return there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Currant Shed also viewed

McLaren Vale, South Australia
McLaren Vale, South Australia
 
McLaren Vale, South Australia
McLaren Vale, South Australia
 

Been to The Currant Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Currant Shed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.