We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Coming Back - modern and luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McLaren Vale Studio Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added McLaren Vale Studio Apartments to your Saves list
McLaren Vale Studio Apartments
222 Main Street, McLaren Vale, South Australia 5171 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Keep Coming Back - modern and luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at these apartments for our wedding anniversary for the last 2 years - and intend on returning this year! We live 15 minutes from the Barossa Valley but decided 2 years ago that we needed to explore the southern wine region of McLaren Vale. We stay in the Vixen Apartment which is closest to the main road, and yet we have never really heard any road noise, always leaving refreshed and relaxed. The Tin Shed Cafe across the road has a great breakfast with friendly and accommodating staff .. The Red Poles Restaurant is also a must when visiting the area. We cannot speak highly enough of these apartments

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The rooms are certainly spacious and well appointed but fairly expensive although I think we had to pay a premium for a single night's accommodation over a weekend. In fact this was just about the only place that did not insist on a minimum 2 night stay.

It is centrally situated in McLaren Vale so you can walk to good restaurants and coffee shops on the main street as well as the Hardy's winery which is about 2 doors down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here in the Leconfield "Syn" apartment. Although the accommodation is on the expensive side, you definitely get what you pay for. Wonderful modern apartment. Loved the large flat screen TV with Foxtel and leather theatre reclinders. One night we used the BBQ and ate out at Carmel's the other night (not that I'd recommend the restaurant all that highly). Can't rate this place highly enough. Excellent location in McLaren Vale main street. Lots of great places to eat and drink within walking distance.

There were however a few minor points which could be improved on. There were a few things missing in the apartment that would have been handy since it's a self contained apartment, things you wouldn't think of bringing but do come in handy. It would have been nice to have some paper towel to clean the BBQ with. But I understand that some people might be tempted to take such things with them. Also it would have been good to include some instructions to ring the accommodation before/when you arrive to get the code to release the key by the front door. We only found this out from another couple who were leaving as we arrived.

Definitely a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We were in The Laughing Magpie room at tne back of the property. Great place to stay. Was very happily surprised at the size of the room which was
bigger than my own 1 bedroom apartment!
Great location, close to everything. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Mclaren Vale apts for two nights after getting a voucher off Living Social. We had never stayed in the area before, so were keen to check it out.
The apts were really nice - they were absolutely huge though, considering they are only one bedroom (although there may be an option to have more stay on a fold-out couch - doubl check, I can't remember). There was a lovely outdoor bbq area, which was quite private, and rather luxurious entertainment unit.
We were only disappointed with the advertised spa bath - when most places advertise a spa bath, it refers to a corner spa for two, however this was only a regular bath with jets, which wouldn't comfortably fit two people.
Location was nice - some good places to eat just a few steps away. Also, it was a lovely walk to some local wineries: Maxwell, Tapestry, Alpha Box and Dice, Angoves.... there are probably more within walking distance, but we only made it to those four!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. It was spacious, modern and clean. After reading other reviews I requested a room away from the road which was quiet enough. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

What a great surprise ! This was like a home away from home. Only down side would be if you had an apartment near the road. We had a 1br apartment at the back and could still hear traffic in the morning.
BUT.......
The rooms are all full size / nice outdoor eating bbq area / well equipped full size kitchen if you want to buy some local produce and cook for your self / easy walking distance to wineries and restaurants / private / great tv area to relax.
We went to The Barn for dinner and the Tin Shed for breakfast and both were great ! I recommend it as it would make a great base for touring around the Fleurieu Peninsula

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room at the back away from the road !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McLaren Vale Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLaren Vale Studio Apartments

Address: 222 Main Street, McLaren Vale, South Australia 5171 , Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > McLaren Vale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in McLaren Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your McLaren Vale Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclaren Vale Studio Apartments Hotel Mclaren Vale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McLaren Vale Studio Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.