We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Main Road & Caffrey St, McLaren Vale, South Australia 5171, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McLaren Vale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Used this as a base to tour McLaren Vale vineyards and cellar doors. Central location. Very good restaurants within 100metres. Excellent accommodation. Great gardens - roses and other flowers. Wine-knowledge of owner/manager amazing. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
84
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

A group of 8 of us stayed here in October, the rooms were fabulous, clean and modern.
Staff where very helful telling us the places to vist.
We used the central area to have a couple of drinks before heading out for more!!
it was very handy for restaurants and bars as they are all with in walking distance.
We used this as a base to explore the wineries of Mclaren Vale which i must say was a delight.
The only down side was not having enough space in my luggage to bring all the wines i wanted to buy back home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent four nights here and found the motel ideally located easy walk to local restaurants and shops and some wineries. The staff were very helpful and friendly, a nice area in the middle of the car park for a few wines, there is also a sheltered swimming pool and barbecue area. The units are of a high standard and well maintained, foxtel is also on the tvs. We stayed here 10 years ago and were delighted the motel has kept up to date with all modern coms and rooms nicely refurbished.

Room Tip: Speak nicely at reception and you will get free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDV65, Manager at McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Welcome back and thanks for the wonderful review. The outside and entrance is next on the refurbishment list, so hopefully they will be done next time you come. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This motel is well located in McLaren Vale wine region within easy walking distance to shops, cafés and restaurants. Facilities are clean and modern with a lovely garden retreat. There is also a nice swimming pool and other children's play equipment. Would recommend it for tourists or reps passing through.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDV65, Manager at McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for recommending us we appreciate your thoughts and review. cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was recently accommodated here by one of the wine companies when visiting the McLaren Vale Region. There's not a lot of choice of accommodation in McLaren Vale, however, the motel is located at one end of the township and is a good base for visiting the wineries. The exterior of the hotel is quite dated, however the rooms were spacious, exceptionally clean and a big surprise on entry.

My room included a self contained kitchen, laundrette in the bathroom, a double spa bath, lounge and flat screen television. If you were staying here for the weekend, it would be comfortable but not luxurious.

Bed and pillows were great, ensuring a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDV65, Manager at McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for the great review, spacious, exceptionally clean and Great sleep just what we like to hear. We have just finished refurbishing all the rooms, The outside is next on our list with plans being drawn up now. we look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

These rooms have been recently renovated to a high standard and are spotlessly clean. The owners have done everything to make our stay a comfortable one and the beds are very comfortable The location is great and within walking distance to local restaurants. The alfresco area is a delight with the plants and birds.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the western side of the complex you will need to operate the air conditioner in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDV65, Manager at McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Wow thanks for your positive review, hope to see you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We are here at the moment enjoying our stay at this hotel. Very comfortable beds and pillows....very clean..our room 29 has spa bath, machine machine and dryer full kitchen..very well presented.. Would definately stay again

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments

Address: Cnr Main Road & Caffrey St, McLaren Vale, South Australia 5171, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > McLaren Vale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McLaren Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclaren Vale Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.