We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairyland Village

Fairyland Village
21 Adelaide Lobethal Rd, Lobethal, South Australia 5241, Australia
08 8389 6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 things to do in Lobethal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The theme park in the beautiful Adelaide Hills is based on magical fairy stories, the bushland walking trail winds past 17 cottages each with its own life size display that incorporates a mix of antiques and well known fairy tales. A unique experience for Adults and Children alike.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hmmm...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place was so bad it was brilliant!! Must of been magical back in '73 however after being weather beaten and battered for 40 years it's definitely seen better days. Kids loved it no matter what. Iconic!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    6
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sad and rundown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place really hasn't aged very well and needs quite a bit of maintenance. Out of all the animated displays, less than half were in working order at the time of our visit.... and yet we were still charged full price to enter. I think we only counted 5 or 6 that worked at all. The exhibits need some mending or sprucing up and a vacuum and dust inside the displays once in a while wouldn't go astray. The playground looked good but it was too wet during our visit to play on it. I don't think we will bother returning which is a shame. It is sad to see what once was obviously a delightful place, fall into a state of disrepair :( I hope the owners fix up the issues so future generations can enjoy it here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Takes me back to my childhood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I didnt realise this place was still open but when I found out I was up there in a flash. It's old and showing its age but my three year old had an absolute blast up there, so it was definately worth the trip to see his smile.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Fairyland/wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Brilliant place for the young and young at heart.....Has been quite a while since i last visited fairyland with my young kids and i had as must fun there as my kids did...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We used to take our children there many years ago & they loved it. How disappointed were we when, a few years ago, we took 2 of our grandchildren along?! To be fair we thought that we would 'give it another chance'. Mistake!

when we went back 3yrs later, it was even worse. Hardly any exhibits, and, what was there , was in a very bad state of repair. We won't go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairyland Village also viewed

Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Birdwood, Adelaide Hills
Montacute, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to Fairyland Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairyland Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.