We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed cabins.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park to your Saves list
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
Wilpena Rd, Hawker, South Australia 5434, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well appointed cabins.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Great value for money. Cabins are clean, well equipped and spacious. Great to wake up and look out onto the stunning southern wall of Wipena Pound and to return, after a long day of walking, in the evening to a hot shower, comfy bed and brilliant sunset!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
49
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in the holiday cabins (not the Eco villas and not the caravan park itself) so I'm not quite sure where to put this review. Rawnsley Park is a nice location for seeing Flinders ranges and the one-bed cabin was perfectly fine, but for the price we paid it was pretty basic and dingy. The electricity was out when we arrived and they decided to keep it off so that they could instead provide power to the (completely empty) restaurant. When we asked if we could at least use the refrigerators in the restaurants for our stuff that had been in the car all afternoon they refused. Just didn't feel very gracious or friendly. If I was going to do it again I would either want to just camp or pay more for the nicer place up the road.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Great caravan park, recommended by our son's friend who worked there a season.
Beautiful views from the park towards Rawnsley Bluff.
Brand new extra abultion block just opened, extra options from the powered sites are of lots of bush camping sites with no power at $22 p/nt.
Fuel was quite a bit cheaper than Wilpena Pound.
Small shop inside the office with basic supplies plus beer & wine.
Managed to get another tap fitting we had accidently left behind when filling up.
Did the self guided 4x4 tour on their land, took about 4-5 hrs, part is for AWD's and part 4WD's with low range needed for some very steep hill climbs with amazing views. Cost $45.
Great spot to tour the Flinders from.

Room Tip: They also have cabins & eco villas plus a restaurant onsite that also does takeways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Fantastic location. We stayed in a camper trailer. Dispite the fact that you camped on pebbles, it was fantastic. The camp kitchen was the best I have seen, with everything you need, including loads of seating a fire and lots of lounges. There are plenty of places to have your own camp fire and is a great park that encourages you to mingle with other people. The staff were fantastic and the location is just great for all the walks and drives in the flinders

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

what a great place to stay, we stayed in their holiday cabins. inside was neat, tidy and good quality. the beds were comfortable. everything worked. airconditioning, tv, fridge/freezer, kettle, toaster, microwave, all kitchen utensils, tables and chairs, blankets and sheets.
the camp kitchen was amazing. all in great quality, fridge/freezers, massive bbq/cooktops, cooking facilities, tables chairs, tv, lounge, ceiling fans, heater, big enough for groups to cook and eat at the same time. Shower block was spotless, showers worked well, toilets clean, well lit, no bugs. there was a seperate BBQ area that had eveything. all camping spots had there own wood BBQ. the shop had everything you needed. the pool was well looked after. views of Wilpena pound. a great place to stay for a single, couple or family.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park

Address: Wilpena Rd, Hawker, South Australia 5434, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Hawker
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Hawker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 30000 acre sheep station just below the spectacular Wilpena Pound. Rawnsley Park Caravan Park offers a unique accommodated or camping experience that will not be forgotten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park Hawker, South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.