We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful visitor centre and good shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilpena Panorama

Wilpena Panorama
61 Cradock Road, Hawker, South Australia 5434, Australia
+61 8 8648 4071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7 Attractions in Hawker
Type: Art Museums, Other, Museums
Attraction details
Guernsey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Helpful visitor centre and good shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had not expected to be able to buy any food here, but there is a well-stocked shop, which was useful. The visitor centre gives good service and made a booking for us in a minibus to lessen the length of the walk into Wilpena Pound.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking panoramic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hawker SA based artist Jeff Morgan displays his unique talent for painting landscape panoramas. The views from St Marry's peak overlooking Wilpena pound captured in the panoramic painting are breathtaking. Viewing the panoramic painting is a must for every visitor to the Flinders Ranges. It is displayed in a specially constructed room which is part of an art gallery containing a collection of Jeff's outback landscape paintings. Some of the paintings are also available as rolled up posters which can easily be carried in cabin size luggage and framed at home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Panorama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

An amazing work of art and the perspective is incredible. One of the major attractions in Hawker SA. Should be seen to appreciate another broad aspect of the Flinders Ranges

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing, beautiful art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This attraction is in the township of Hawker, and is indoors in air conditioning making it an ideal attraction during hot, cold or wet weather when you don't want to be outside.

Allow at least an hour to fully appreciate this amazing art and the story behind it, as I think you would miss out if you didn't read the information around the walls before looking at the Panorama itself.

We were lucky to have the Panorama to ourselves for most of the time we were there, so we had uninterrupted views as we turned around to see the different views. The signage helped us orientate ourselves within the panorama with local landmarks indicated on brass plaques on the posts.

Photography is not allowed inside, and to be honest I don't think that photos could do it justice anyway.

The panorama is a real life 360 degree view from St Mary's Peak at Wilpena Pound. St Mary's Peak is a challenging climb that many of us may not be fit enough to do - and it seemed to me as if I was there, looking at the view through a really good pair of glasses. The foreground was crisp and sharp, yet the distance and perspective showed the haze that is typical of the Flinders Ranges (as you see when you stop to take advantage of any of the lookouts as you drive around).

There is a lovely wooden viewing platform at the same height as the panorama, with comfortable stairs and rails to help you up if you have slightly reduced mobility. Chairs at the top allow you to sit and appreciate the effect of the panorama, while hearing the natural sound recording of the local area at the Pound. I would think that you could still gain an appreciation of the Panorama without climbing the stairs, but you would have a less intimate experience that way. However, if you aren't able to climb the stairs then this is THE ONLY way to see the view from the St Mary's Peak lookout.

In a separate room (the Winston Hewson Wing), you can see three other large paintings, of which my favourite was "Ron's Creek" - a 50ft painting set behind a rustic fence with the creek setting displayed on the ground leading to the picture. As I sat and looked at the painting I could see more and more of the detail, and locals we spoke with afterwards said that each time they go there they see different parts of the creek that they hadn't noticed before.

The admission cost was only about $8, which was less than you would expect to pay for something of this calibre.

Souvenirs are available and there is an extensive variety of original art and prints for purchase on site.

I would strongly recommend a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Visit St Marys Peak effortlessly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

An amazing, breathtaking panorama of the Flinders Ranges.
An awe inspiring experienxce which can be enjoyed by everybody.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilpena Panorama also viewed

Flinders Ranges National Park, Flinders Ranges
 

Been to Wilpena Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilpena Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.