We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renos in progress be paitent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park to your Saves list
Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   145a Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Lower Portland, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Renos in progress be paitent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Yeah! the perfect stay
Just remember they are renovating....
We found that this was very affordable accommodation being in the Christmas season. We arrived on Christmas eve.The room .. yes are old but clean and comfortable, It was very quiet and relaxing, and overlooking the lake was breathe taking. Our chalet apartment had a separate bedroom with a queen sized bed and 2 seater lounge, very comfy. We had a spa that was a surprise for the room size. We had our own facilities, tea and coffee facilities, mini bar fridge, toasters, microwaves, televisions and reverse cycle air conditioning. It was all we needed to suit our needs. Room service was limited due to it being Christmas, after contacting the office I am to believe that the room service is very limited at all times at this stage..
Apart from that I personally was very impressed. I am sure you wont be disappointed.
Do I recommend this resort? DEFFINATELY :)

Room Tip: Rooms should be chosen to your needs, our was spot on. Beautiful lake view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon m, Public Relations Manager at Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Greetings ChezPAW,
Thank you for your kind review. I am gladdened by your kind words about our Resort. It is certainly our intention to make our guests to feel relaxed and enjoy their stay. Regarding your comments about room services I am in total agreement with you. This is something I will be personally looking into as i believe it is an important process of feeling relaxed and also Important.
Again thank you for the review, We do hope you will come back sometime to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Firstly, this place has recently come under new ownership and is now called "Hahndorf Accommodation". It is a fairly old resort associated with a caravan park, and when we mentioned where we were staying, we got some not-so-encouraging looks from people in town. However, when we arrived it was a pleasant surprise. We had booked a one bedroom "Bavarian" spa chalet, which overlooked the pond. Lots of grass, ducks, geese etc. I don't really know about the Bavarian tag, except to say that everything in Hahndorf has a German label. It was a fairly standard unit. It had obviously been recently repainted and was spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable, the spa worked and there was a comfortable couch from which to watch the modern TV. Very quiet and restful. Sure, the buildings are elderly, but so am I. No complaints from this traveler.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon m, Public Relations Manager at Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Greetings Rogbaggs,
Thank you for your kind review. As you mentioned the Resort in the past has had a bad rap. Locals are usually the best judges of places in the area and unfortunately previous owners of the Resort did not do enough to keep the Resort in the best of conditions. However this is going to change. With new owners our whole site is going to change and once this happens we hope the locals will come back in droves. I myself was one who did not think the best of the Resort but as im sure you know once you drive up that drive way there is a wow factor that no other place in Hahndorf has. We like most of Hahndorf will be dropping the Germanic label for a number of reasons. Firstly it is very dated and secondly Hahndorf was a Bavarian settlement so even the history is wrong.
Again thankyou for your kind works and we will hope to see you again once the site is completely finished and better than ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Hahndorf Accommodation & Caravan Park has had some scathing reviews on this site and yet I simply have say that I had a very good experience. We booked a 2 bedroom Spa Chalet, which overlooked the lake area. The chalet had been painted last year, and the rooms were very well presented. There are no cooking facilities in the rooms but there is a microwave and a bar fridge, and plenty of cupboard space. The rooms have been refurbished, however, some aspects such as the dining table are showing sign of wear, but were still very clean.

The Park is undergoing major refurbishment, so at the time of our stay the pool was drained and being worked on, as were other parts of the park. The restaurant is currently closed but that didn't cause any problems since there were several dining options a short way down the road in Hahndorf. There is also an excellent fruit and vegetable store across the road that stocks great fresh, local produce.

The service was very friendly, and when we arrived early, before 2pm, (the standard check in time) after a long day's drive we were allowed to check in early without any problems.

The ducks and geese roaming the park added a wonderful charm to the place, and it was very quiet despite the work being carried out. The rolling green hills of the parks and the wildlife added to the attraction of the the Park.

The standard of accommodation is definitely good value for money, especially considering that this Park is offering accommodation in the budget end of the spectrum. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon m, Public Relations Manager at Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Shenma,
Thank you for your kind words. As you have pointed out in your review we at the Hahndorf Resort are going through a period of change. As of September new owners have taken over with the vision to take the Resort to a new level. Many millions of dollars are being spent on upgrading the caravan sites, refurbishing all of our rooms, cottages and villas, upkeep of the grounds and guest facilities. As well as these what use to be a restaurant will be reopened to all with stunning decor and mouth watering menu. The convention centre will also be fully refurbished and will provide services that we believe will be second to none in the area.
Again thank you for your kind words and we hope that you will grace us with your presence in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was the worst we stayed at in two weeks in South Australia. The new owner is starting a major renovation project but in the meantime standards are poor, yet rates are at a maximum. Roading full of potholes, no camp kitchen, highest price for washing machines and driers at $5.00 per use. Tree rubbish was being burnt on site and the smell of burning through everything. This caravan park will improve but at present beware of the very poor condition.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon m, Public Relations Manager at Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Greetings John,
Thank you for the review of our caravan park.
As you pointed out we are in the process of a major renovation project. We are very sorry that this affected you during your stay with us. Many Millions are being spent to bring our site up to a standard that we hope our guest will appreciate. Prices are being reviewed constantly now and there is a lot of work being done to upgrade and improve guest amenities.
Again we appreciate you feedback and do hope you will return one day to a bigger and better Hahndorf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Although rooms were clean, this 'resort' is a good example of what happens to an accommodation facility if maintenance is not kept up and renewal is not undertaken every few years! Pool was closed with no sign it will ever open again, outdoor BBQ area lacking a BBQ and in a dilapidated state, which sums up most of the park. It is on the market so owners obviously not keen to fix it up. Lovely location but I would not stay more than a night or two.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week and loved it. Stayed in a European spa chalet. Was very quiet and relaxing. Room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly, as were the ducks. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in July 2013. Although the place is sverely run down, amenities are not properly maintained and the park area is overflooded during the winter period when we visited, they still charged a premium price! Too bad we did not inspect before going to the office and pay for the night. We went into town and only came back to sleep, then hurried out in the morning... Do not go there!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park

Address: 145a Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Hahndorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-emerging as a South Australian holiday favourite, the Hahndorf Resort offers a wide variety of accommodation options, caravan and camping facilities, an on-site restaurant and three different event spaces. Nestled on 13 hectares of beautiful open surroundings with unparalleled views of the magnificent Adelaide Hills, the Hahndorf Resort feels a world away yet offers every convenience at your fingertips. Only 20 minutes from Adelaide, this picturesque retreat offers the perfect location to discover Hahndorf and the surrounding areas with its many attractions. With all that it has to offer, the Hahndorf Resort is an ideal choice for your next short break, family holiday, important event or function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hahndorf Resort & Convention Centre Hotel Hahndorf
Hahndorf Resort And Convention Centre
Hahndorf Hotel Convention Centre
Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.