We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hahndorf Academy

Hahndorf Academy
68 Main St, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
08 8388 7250
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$137*
and up
Adelaide Super Saver: Adelaide City Sightseeing...
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Hahndorf
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Hamilton New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I too stumbled upon this wonderful information centre and gathered so many interesting facts about the community and it's beginnings.

It is all set out really well and well organised, so that with either a brief or prolonged visit,one gets a feel and insight into the wonderful community

I have just finished reading a novel by Peter Yeldham, "Bitter Harvest", set in Hahndorf and the Barossa Valley about the trials and tribulations of being a young German youth arriving in Adelaide.Excellent read by the way
.
I found this book so fascinating, given the information I had read and saw at The Hahndorf Academy.

Thank you, well worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paeroa, NZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent combination of art and history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Right next to the info centre. Great selection of art and crafts, and an interesting small museum with local info. Well worth spending some time (and maybe money in the gallery).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Excellent small Art Gallery and shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This Gallery is housed in the same building as the town Visitor Centre, and we came across it while looking for information on the town at the Centre. We were so glad we took the time to look at the exhibition (a textile exhibition by three artists was on when we were there), and we also spent a lot of time browsing through the shop looking at the many pieces by local and other artists. The Gallery seems to be "manned" by volunteers who were very knowledgeable.
Unlike others we didn't like the town much, too "touristy", but the Gallery was well worth the visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Community Art at it's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It was a gallery and a shop with wonderful gifts and stunning paintings. Very friendly and Helpful staff. Also classes taught there if you were there for a while. The building itself was quite a beautiful, historical building and lovely to see it maintained in this way. The Visitor Centre was conveniently housed in the same building.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willunga, South Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful old historic building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Apart from a changing art display, and beautiful items for sale handmade by local artisans, the academy also houses an excellent display and record of the German settlement in the Handorf town and region. Worth a look in this charming mostly authentic German town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hahndorf Academy also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to Hahndorf Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hahndorf Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.