We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational hills restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White House

The White House
90 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
08 8388 7669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Hahndorf
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sensational hills restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My partner and I chose The White House as our wedding venue in Jan 2013, and we couldn't have been more thrilled with everything they did for us to make our day so memorable and fun! The food was delicious (so many compliments from our guests), the staff were exceptionally attentive and helpful, the garden was beautifully arranged, and there was so much generosity of time and enthusiasm to make our day special... the White House team excelled in every way. Nothing was too much to ask, and even though some staff had been working several hours before our wedding, they were still going until the small hours of the night to ensure we had a brilliant day. To Sophie and Sid (wonderfully warm and creative owners), Annabel (attentive and supportive functions coordinator) and Chris (superstar chef), and the rest of the White House team, we love you to bits and thank you from the bottom of our hearts! xx kara and paul

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I love this place! It's so quirky and warming. The staff are very friendly and give top service! The food was also very nice! The only downfall I found was the menu is very limited.. But apart from that it is highly recommended! Tip: go check out the secret gardens!! Definitely coming back :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dinner at the White House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had dinner recently at the White House restaurant in Hahndorf, and I have to say that I’ve never eaten a better steak. Service was prompt, professional and courteous, the atmosphere informal and charming, and the food was just great. We were entertained by an excellent jazz group playing on the front veranda. All I can say is “Do yourself a favour.”

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“changed for worse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We used to go to the White House quite often for breakfast and lunch and we adored their French menu. Now they have changed the chef and raised the prices. The place is now more like modOz. Good quality ingredients. But very boring.

I had a prawn salad, which had 3 prawns, a few chunks of fried polenta and the greens. For the price of $23 this seems not very satisfactory...

We are not coming back. It's a pity as this was the only genuine place in Hahndorf.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I went there for lunch with family and a friend from the US. We had a very nice lunch, i loved my duck salad. The food was very unique and different, not like boring cafe food. The price isn't cheap, but you get what you pay for. I would definitely recommend it anyone.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White House also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.