We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge meals” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Haus Hahndorf

The Haus Hahndorf
38 Main Road, Hahndorf, South Australia, Australia
+61 8 8388 7555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 32 Restaurants in Hahndorf
Cuisines: German, Pizza, Tapas, Contemporary, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Haus Cafe+Bar+Kitchen of Hahndorf is a dining and social experience like no other. Located in the heart of the stunning Adelaide Hills, The Haus of Hahndorf showcases an amazing selection of dishes created from the best in local produce.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Huge meals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had lunch at the Haus this week, but were somewhat disappointed. Must have been a bad day as I have fared better in previous visits. The food was plentiful and well presented and mostly well cooked, however, my Caesar salad arrived minus the poached egg and the bruschetta was soggy and unappetising. Although it was not a busy day we had a long wait for the food and the water we ordered at the beginning did not arrive until the end of the meal. We did not have desserts, though they did look delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    115
    49
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had lunch up here with friends on our way to visit Aptos Cruz galleries..also worth a stop... very nice lunch and well priced.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great food place in Hahndorf. Serving sizes are huge, great value for money. Very nice atmosphere, quick and friendly service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“LIke the changes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We used to come here when it was "Muggleton's" and there have been many changes to the layout and decor (no baby grand piano these days, and much more dining-space, for instance). The food is different, but still good. They still haven't got rid of the "convict" decor, even though we've told them that there were never any convicts in South Australia.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“"Eggcellent" Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to The Haus for breakfast the both days we stayed in Hahndorf and found the food to be great and the service was pretty good too. There was a young guy who seemed to be new but he was trying hard. David, the guy who seemed to be running the breakfast shift was very efficient and nothing was a problem. The tables are a bit close together and the staff have trouble getting around them but otherwise a pleasant experience all round.

They also helped us as we were late leaving for the airport on Sunday and cooked us a rushed order of bacon and eggs. Thanks again - we will see you next time we are in Hahndorf.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Haus Hahndorf also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The Haus Hahndorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Haus Hahndorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.