We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amble at Hahndorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amble at Hahndorf to your Saves list
Amble at Hahndorf
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Hereford Avenue, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hahndorf B&B and Inns
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
“Consistently great ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Yet another visit to Amble and although the weather was wet and windy, the stay was restful and refreshing. This has become a regular retreat for us and we continue to find the accommodation consistently good and the hosts are exceptional.

Hope to visit again and again and again.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms that would suit differing needs ... for us, Amble Over is the preferenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    24
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
156
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The accommodation and provisions exceeded my expectations which were pretty high in the first place. Plenty of room, comfortable furnishings and bed, everything worked that had a switch on it and on arrival it was spotless. I needed seclusion to get some work done and Amblefern was perfect for my needs as a solo traveller. I can highly recommend Amblefern, it was an absolute delight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A last-minute romantic getaway, and I couldn't have planned a better location! A freezing cold winter weekend in the Adelaide Hills, and we were wrapped up warm in the gorgeous little Wren Cottage. Surrounded by garden (in full winter bloom), Wren Cottage is quiet and private. The cottage is well appointed and an impressive amount of care and attention has been put into ensuring guests feel completely at home and informed about the area. Little touches, from make-up removal pads to chocolates and great coffee, all made the stay even more pleasant. The bed is really comfortable with good quality linens and the sound of birds as an alarm clock. Highly recommended for a little weekend away!

Room Tip: Wren Cottage is a gorgeous intimate space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was a really good choice for us, 4 adults. Lovely log style cabin, nice selection of goodies left for our use for breakfast and snacks etc. We really enjoyed our stay. It is a 5 minute walk from the main street of Hahndorf so very convenient, especially if you want to go out for dinner at the pubs and have a few pints!
The only thing I would say is it's a real shame the fire place is not in action and secondly when we arrived it was very cold! Took quite a while to warm up the place but when it was warm it was more than adequate. Still it was winter so to be expected!
Overall fantastic stay although perhaps the price was a little more than we'd normally like to pay. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We are currently staying in 'Wren Cottage' at the lovely Amble at Hahndorf . The accommodation is cosy and the hosts have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. The provisions are delicious and generous for you to make your own breakfast. We have enjoyed looking at the picturesque surroundings and feeding the birds. We highly recommend this great B@B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Not only did we feel at home, we felt like we belonged and were being cared for. The beautiful decor, the natural setting and the most gracious hosts provided warmth to our spirits on those cool Hahndorf winter days.

The owners, Roger and Di, gave freely of their time, knowledge and supplies and all were gratefully and humbly received by us, the weary travellers. The town, the setting, the rooms and the hosts - all truly magnificent. This is how all B & B's should be and we hope to return as and when we are able

Room Tip: All rooms are great from what we saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our recent stay at the Amble Wren cottage was brilliant on all levels. Perfectly located with extremely comfortable bedding, a luxury spa bath, all needs catered for & elegantly captivating scenic window views overseeing a gentle flurry of beautiful birds feeding each morning; the Amble Wren was a pure delight to stay at. Aside from the extremely relaxing, enthralling, magic vibes of the Amble Wren to subdue the mind and ignite romance, the service from Rodger & Di was global top class. All those extra little bits of ever-friendly service really made the experience all the more memorable! 10/10

Room Tip: The Amble Wren is perfect for a romantic stay in Hahndorf. We recommend staying longer than 2 nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amble at Hahndorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble at Hahndorf

Address: 10 Hereford Avenue, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Hahndorf
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hahndorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble at Hahndorf 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amble at Hahndorf bed and breakfast just 150m from Hahndorf’s Main Street, and only 25 km east of Adelaide CBD. Nestled in the Adelaide Hills region of South Australia‘Amble at Hahndorf’ Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located for an enjoyable and peaceful escape.Set in lovely gardens, ‘Amble at Hahndorf’ offers tranquility, romance and seclusion.This beautiful Hahndorf accommodation is offered in either ‘Amble Wren’, ‘Amble Fern’ and ‘Amble Over’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amble at Hahndorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amble At Hahndorf South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amble at Hahndorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.