We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Manna of Hahndorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Manna of Hahndorf to your Saves list
The Manna of Hahndorf
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   25 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I loved the location - it was brilliant being able to walk to anywhere along the main street with ease. It is also handy that there is a small supermarket just a few doors along.

The room was clean and modern. It was ok, but nothing special. I did not like the outlook (a brick wall) and there were people walking past all the time so it was noisy.

I would probably check out a smaller b&b type place for our next stay in Hahndorf. I think for the price paid at The Manna we could get a much nicer place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Front Office Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hello TT2Web,

Thank you for staying with us at The Manna of Hahndorf and for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate you sharing with everyone how great our location is. Being in the Main Street of Hahndorf is central to everything, not just in the town but Hahndorf itself is a great base to set yourself in to explore the Adelaide Hills region and beyond. At night time it is a completely different place to be when all the day trippers head back for the day and you are left with just the locals.
Being in the Main Street does mean we do not have beautiful country views but with sheer curtains and block-out curtains you have the flexibility to create your own private escape.
We think you would really like our sister property The Haus Studio Apartments which has a different outlook so please come and try this style of accommodation next time. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    73
    32
    10
    10
See reviews for
26
87
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Not at all impressed. Rooms are skeletal, only the very basics included. We stayed there on the night we got engaged and then again on our wedding night as did many of our guests. Absolutely no special service for our large booking. No interest in even making a group booking as they were convinced they wouldn't have trouble booking out. The admin staff were very rude when I enquired about a mass booking, and we would have booked at least a dozen rooms. They weren't interested at all.
Our wedding night suite was a deluxe spa suite at $260 per night. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, hard as a rock. The spa was tiny and also very uncomfortable. The room was presented well but really was no better than a sales reps room. I have had better rooms in hotels for $120 in the same region.
The other thing that really upset me was the attitude of the staff. Absolutely the rudest ladies and completely unsuitable for working in tourism. No smiles, no politeness, just processing their customers with no niceties at all. Compared to such places as Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, for the same price, there is no comparison! I won't be going back to the Manna, nor recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Front Office Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear 713Andrea,

We are saddened to hear that you were disappointed with our accommodation especially as you have stayed with us before. Having opened close to 6 years ago our rooms have always been the same with an emphasis on getting out to explore the region. Our Modern & Stylish rooms have great space, a private en-suite, and a kitchenette containing a microwave, toaster, kettle, and mini fridge. There is a large TV with complimentary Foxtel Channels and Wi-Fi is FREE. You had inquired about making a Wedding Group booking for which we sent out the Terms & Conditions to you, however you did not continue with making a booking. I believe that at the time you and most of your guests had made bookings already. We love group bookings and are very flexible with both small and large groups. With our combined 4 properties with over 90 rooms we have groups in and out daily.
It is upsetting to hear that you were not greeted with the bright and bubbly staff of which we have apart of our team. I cannot make excuses for the service you received although i wish you would have called me so that i could address the staff member in question. We apologize sincerely for not making you stay one to remember always and to share with all your friends and family. We wish you all the best for your future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights in an executive room. Surprised that the 2nd night was more expensive than 1st (mid-week). Location was very good and the room also a good size. On the downside, air conditioner was difficult to use, we had no hot water the first morning so couldn't shower (reported to reception, but nobody bothered to tell us when it was fixed), and on the 2nd day our room was not serviced. On our departure I mentioned this to reception and all I got was "Oh, that's not good". Fortunately, the location overcame the deficiencies, hence the "very good" review. The issues were more staff than the motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Front Office Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Les H - thank for you sharing our great location with Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you liked our rooms. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience of the loss of hot water we had experienced some difficulties which were fixed promptly. We attempted to contact all the guest affected but were unable to speak with everyone. Perhaps we will review our policies to ensure that letters are left in the room although i think speaking with guests one on one is more personal. We thank you for your feedback and really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Provided good sized room (Executive Room) with limited self catering facilities ie microwave - comfy bed, balcony overlooking central courtyard and glimpses of main street. Bath room quite small. Air conditioned with access to swimming pool at nearby 'sister' property. Late check in handled very well. Room clean and had minimum supplies of the essentials ie soap, tea bags etc. Tariff higher than expected for a room with no bath or allocated parking, but it was school holidays and Hahndorf is a wonderful place to visit in the South Australian hills.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of complex away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Front Office Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi ElizaS221,
Thank you for staying with us at The Manna of Hahndorf.
It is great to hear you liked our Executive Rooms and found our Motel comfortable and convenient. We do have a sister property called The Hahndorf Motor Lodge which is only 100m walk down from The Manna of Hahndorf and all our guests can use the pool FREE of Charge.
We have a NEW Property called The Haus Studio Apartments which you should try next time to come to the Adelaide Hills. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a great base to use when visiting Hahndorf. it is easy to find on the main street and with in walking distance of everything, including restaurants, the supermarket, pubs, shops, and attractions. It is a surprisingly big complex, but is easy to navigate. The rooms are spacious, with plenty of light, a nice big bed, modern furniture and decor, good sized shower and ensuite, bar fridge, microwave, crockery and cutlery, spare blankets and pillows, and decent sized TV. We had a room towards the rear of the property on a corner facing out on a walkway. You need to have the curtains drawn if you need privacy but otherwise it was very quiet and "tucked away". Price was reasonable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. A downlight was not working in our bathroom and it was fixed very quickly after we reported this to reception. There is a cafe/restaurant across the road operated by the facility which was very nice, with a good range of food and drink to suit all ages and tastes. The pool was in the motel next door but was easy to access and open till late. Check in and check out times were standard and whilst we were travelling with our 12 year old, would consider this a great venue for couples as well, as there were spa room suites available too. We'll be coming back . A very pleasant place to stay overall.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the rear of the property or to the side.Bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Front Office Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hello Peter R,

We are grateful for your lovely review. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked our Adelaide Hills Accommodation property. The Manna of Hahndorf is perfect for not only exploring the historic town of Hahndorf but the Adelaide Hills and surrounding regions. Even though we are located in the Main Street the Motel is set back away from the hustle and bustle of Hahndorf.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share your South Australian Accommodation experience with Trip Advisor. We hope to welcome you and your family back to Hahndorf very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

As we walked through the car park to the back of the hotel where the spa rooms are located, I was a bit nervous as these rooms don't look like much from outside. My gosh, was I surprised when I opened the door.
These rooms have been decorated beautifully in a black and white theme and make for a really comfortable setting in which to enjoy this culture-rich and aesthetically pleasing town.
Located on Main St, it is close to all the main attractions Hahndorf has to offer including restaurants, cellar doors, shopping and museums.
Parking is included in the room fee and ours included breakfast as well. Breakfast is served at "The Haus" Restaurant just opposite The Manna on Main Street. I did think it was a bit odd that they only gave us one breakfast voucher to the value of $30, despite most meals costing approx $15-$20 each at the restaurant. Thankfully, I wasn't particularly hungry and my partner tells me the breakfast was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Front Office Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi mslexxi!

I am glad to hear that we surprised you! From the outside we may look like your average Motel but when you step inside you have an Adelaide CBD Hotel in a relaxed regional setting.
Our Indulgence Spa Suites do have WOW factor. Each of the 5 rooms actually are decorated in different colours.
Hahndorf is full of things to do and there are so many more destinations over the Adelaide Hills. Our location in the heart of the Main Street makes exploring the region a breeze, it is even convenient as a base for the Barossa and McLaren Vale.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Manna of Hahndorf, we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed in a couple of other motels in Hahdorf but we always come back here. It is modern, clean and quite. Easy access to Main Street, in the middle of Handorf. We have stayed here probably 3 - 4 times and we are always happy with amenities. If we have had a problem we have alerted staff who immediately try and fix problem.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from path on left as the public do walk past and with the large windows in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Front Office Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Desiree0158 - thanks for the lovely review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoy staying with us at The Manna of Hahndorf that you have come back so many times. We always endeavor to make your stay simple and easy and most of all comfortable and enjoyable. In the event that something does not go to plan our team is always on the ball to rectify the situation to ensure you have a pleasant stay with us. Next time you will have to try our NEW property The Haus Studio Apartments... the showers have wall jets.... See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manna of Hahndorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manna of Hahndorf

Address: 25 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Hahndorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manna of Hahndorf 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manna of Hahndorf, 4-Star Accommodation in Hahndorf with more than 50 modern & stylish Motel rooms set back off the Main Street of historic Hahndorf, 'Life is More Interesting on the Street' The Manna of Hahndorf is the perfect place for any stay, long, short, business or pleasure, for both Conference Groups & Wedding Groups; Your stylish alternative to Adelaide CBD Accommodation. Conveniently located with all the modern facilities, in a relaxed regional setting. Perfectly located in the heart of the Adelaide Hills, a great base for your to explore the Adelaide CBD & Glenelg, plus the Barossa Valley, Fleurieu Peninsula and McLaren Vale regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Manna of Hahndorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manna Hotel Hahndorf
The Manna Of Hahndorf South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manna of Hahndorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.