We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully appointed rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manna of Hahndorf

Save Saved
You added The Manna of Hahndorf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Manna of Hahndorf
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   25 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Hahndorf
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

As we walked through the car park to the back of the hotel where the spa rooms are located, I was a bit nervous as these rooms don't look like much from outside. My gosh, was I surprised when I opened the door.
These rooms have been decorated beautifully in a black and white theme and make for a really comfortable setting in which to enjoy this culture-rich and aesthetically pleasing town.
Located on Main St, it is close to all the main attractions Hahndorf has to offer including restaurants, cellar doors, shopping and museums.
Parking is included in the room fee and ours included breakfast as well. Breakfast is served at "The Haus" Restaurant just opposite The Manna on Main Street. I did think it was a bit odd that they only gave us one breakfast voucher to the value of $30, despite most meals costing approx $15-$20 each at the restaurant. Thankfully, I wasn't particularly hungry and my partner tells me the breakfast was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Front Office Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi mslexxi!

I am glad to hear that we surprised you! From the outside we may look like your average Motel but when you step inside you have an Adelaide CBD Hotel in a relaxed regional setting.
Our Indulgence Spa Suites do have WOW factor. Each of the 5 rooms actually are decorated in different colours.
Hahndorf is full of things to do and there are so many more destinations over the Adelaide Hills. Our location in the heart of the Main Street makes exploring the region a breeze, it is even convenient as a base for the Barossa and McLaren Vale.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Manna of Hahndorf, we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    61
    28
    7
    10
See reviews for
22
73
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed in a couple of other motels in Hahdorf but we always come back here. It is modern, clean and quite. Easy access to Main Street, in the middle of Handorf. We have stayed here probably 3 - 4 times and we are always happy with amenities. If we have had a problem we have alerted staff who immediately try and fix problem.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from path on left as the public do walk past and with the large windows in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Front Office Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Desiree0158 - thanks for the lovely review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoy staying with us at The Manna of Hahndorf that you have come back so many times. We always endeavor to make your stay simple and easy and most of all comfortable and enjoyable. In the event that something does not go to plan our team is always on the ball to rectify the situation to ensure you have a pleasant stay with us. Next time you will have to try our NEW property The Haus Studio Apartments... the showers have wall jets.... See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed in one of the rooms on the ground floor. The big minus is complete lack of privacy, as the wall facing the corridor is one big window, floor to ceiling. I did have the sheer curtains, but still I could see people passing by, or in other people's rooms, if they had forgotten to draw these. I guess it might be fixed by putting some sort of privacy foil on all windows and still have that much needed light. The room was a bit too big for my taste, maybe some more or better arranged furniture would help. Few people in my group also agreed that there was something wrong with the rooms. One said no air, other said bed was too big, third complained about view to the wall, etc. Maybe we are bunch of old whiners. Another suggestion may be to put some local photos to bring in the warmth in the room. Also, in the wardrobe all the shelves and drawers were filled with pillows and blankets, so there were nowhere to put my clothes in, but that can easily be fixed
Bathroom was nice and had modern white cabinet where I could stash all my cosmetics, Another big plus - a make-up mirror. Shower recess was unnecessary big, water pressure pathetic, soap in dispenser smelly, but bar soap was provided which is good. Another positive was that they do stick to the 'Save the Planet' towel policy. Many other hotels that I stayed in, just had a sticker, but still insisted on changing towels every day, regardless of where I would put them. Staff was helpful, although not overly enthusiasic (I guess I am spoiled with too many trips to Asia). A smile at arrival and 'how was your stay', 'hope to see you again' does not cost anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Front Office Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hello woginoz,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our Motel in Hahndorf; The Manna of Hahndorf. Our Adelaide Hills Accommodation does have floor to ceiling windows to maximize on natural lighting although being in the Main Street of Hahndorf does mean the outlook is not of the country side. The rooms have two curtains for you to set the level of privacy required, a sheer curtain and a block-out curtain. The Executive Family Rooms are designed to be spacious for longer stays giving the occupants more space to spread out and unwind. We also have Superior Rooms which are more ideal for a quick over night stop. We endeavor to be as accommodating a possible to a broad tourism market of both families, couples and corporates with our Motel. We are pleased to hear you appreciated our little touches with the make-up mirror and the 'Save the Planet' towel policy. Thank you for all your feedback and for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

There are 3 of us who stay here while on business. Most ground floor rooms are spacious and very well appointed. Quiet air conditioning and nice flat screen TV. Upstairs units have very thin walls,stay away from these exec rooms.i feel that our corporate rate could be better.a little expensive

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi B1RD1EMelbourne,
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you thought our rooms were spacious and well appointed. The Executive Rooms are great to stay in with their huge flat-screen TV's.
All corporate rates can be negotiated with our Sales Manager Nicole: nicole.baker@kirkbee.com.au
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review for the Manna of Hahndorf and we hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in an executive room as we had 2 adults and 1 child. The room was large with a king and a single bed. Not quite sure about the layout of the room / facilities with some very odd things.
There is a bench above the sink so if you lean over to fill a glass of water, you might hit your head. The bathroom door has to be opened all the way (more than 90 degrees) otherwise you have to step into the shower section to enter before closing the door.
This is a very city-like place to stay, with alot of concrete around. We had a great night sleep and the room was well priced for what we needed. We were able to walk to dinner and see all the amazing shops down the main street without having to drive anywhere once we got there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello holygrail42,
Thank you for staying with us at The Manna of Hahndorf. We are glad to hear that it was exactly what you needed. Thank you for the feedback in regards to the room layout we really appreciate guests opinions so that we can tailor our products and services to a higher standard. We will certainly be addressing these with the landlord.
It is great to hear that our location suited you well to explore the Main Street. There is so much to see and do in Hahndorf and they are all at our door step.
Thank you for your review. We hope that you will come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I am sure that, technically, this hotel meets the criteria to be considered four star but I expected more. Reception closed at 7pm so our only human interaction was the next morning when we paid the bill. The room was cold and it took several attempts to sort out the heating. The shower cubicle glass in the bathroom was almost dead centre with the door opening so great care had to be taken coming in and out to avoid walking straight into it. One of the two bedside lights was broken. The view from the floor to ceiling windows was of the driveway which meant we had to keep the curtains closed. When we checked out at 10.06am the next morning, we made it clear we were going back to the room to collect our bags but got there to discover the keys had already been made invalid so we had to traipse back to reception again to be let in - very annoying! Of the three hotels we stayed in during a visit to the vineyards around Adelaide, this was also the most expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Front Office Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear poptastic,
We are saddened to hear that you were disappointed with our Motel.
At the Manna of Hahndorf our main rooms are in a 'U' shape where the Superior Rooms face the car park, which some people prefer to have their car directly outside there room, and the Executive Rooms face the inside where there is a courtyard area, for those who do not like the car park outlook. We endeavor to be as flexible as possible to cater for all different needs.
For security our electronic key cards are coded to end on the check-out date at 11am in the event that someone takes the keys home there is no longer access to the room of which they stayed in. They are however sensitive to mobile phones and credit cards and the programing can be erased when too close to these objects.
As we have multiple properties in Hahndorf with multiple reception offices it is at this time un-feesable to have both our check-in counters open late. The Manna of Hahndorf is open until 8pm through summer and 7pm through winter. The Hahndorf Motor Lodge has a residence for the night manager and they can be contacted 24/7.
We sincerely apologize for the broken light globe in your room, we have since rectified this. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hoped for more but got the usual ordinary offering.The Executive ( presumably better) rooms have no windows, so only air-con.The light switches on the bathroom are outside ensuring you wake the others if you get up in the night. The usual minimal lighting so you can't read a paper and no outlook or privacy unless you close your blinds reducing the light further.Cheap soap etc. Add to this, a small block with maximum number of units, crowded, and there are better options.Further, we booked on line in advance at $170 per night only to find that when we checked in the sandwich board outside offered Executive rooms for $154. When queried, the receptionist said the the lower figure is for walk ins, so obviously no benefit in advance booking. That lost us for the next three nights, so we booked elsewhere and happy for it.

Room Tip: Check around carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Criticalgh,
We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not special only ordinary. That was certainly not our intention of your stay with us.
We have addressed with the landlord the lack of fresh air circulation in the rooms and we have approval to rectify this over the next few months. We have both Superior & Executive Rooms to suit both those who like to park outside their rooms, Superior Rooms, and for those who are after more privacy the Executive Rooms which overlook the courtyard area.
Our rates change up and down according to our occupancy levels on a daily basis so when we have cancellations are rates drop as to attract guest to replace our lost bookings. We apologize that this was not made clear to you at the time. We certainly do not penalize guests for booking in advance. I am personally going to ensure that the team have a clear picture on how to explain our rate system. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
It is sad to hear that you went else where for the remaining of your stay but we do hope you enjoyed your time away.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you are ever in the area again so that we can prove to you that the Manna of Hahndorf is more than an ordinary place to stay.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we really appreciate your feedback.
kylie.woodall@kirkbee.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manna of Hahndorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manna of Hahndorf

Address: 25 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Hahndorf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Hahndorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manna of Hahndorf 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manna of Hahndorf, 4-Star Accommodation in Hahndorf with more than 50 modern & stylish Motel rooms set back off the Main Street of historic Hahndorf, 'Life is More Interesting on the Street' The Manna of Hahndorf is the perfect place for any stay, long, short, business or pleasure, for both Conference Groups & Wedding Groups; Your stylish alternative to Adelaide CBD Accommodation. Conveniently located with all the modern facilities, in a relaxed regional setting. Perfectly located in the heart of the Adelaide Hills, a great base for your to explore the Adelaide CBD & Glenelg, plus the Barossa Valley, Fleurieu Peninsula and McLaren Vale regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Manna of Hahndorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manna Hotel Hahndorf
The Manna Of Hahndorf South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manna of Hahndorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.