We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Manna of Hahndorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Manna of Hahndorf to your Saves list
The Manna of Hahndorf
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   25 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What was planned to be a wonderful little getaway turned into a very bad experience. Not only was it glum upon entering but staff appeared to be too busy (or couldn't be bothered as too busy on facebook!!!) to check us in. Once in our room we could hear everything going on in the neighbouring room. We then had to ring for assistance with our TV which had no reception and was told someone would come have a look but no luck there either. Only good thing was that they rooms were clean. Definitely wont stay here again and wont be recommending to anyone. Dont stay if you want service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Manna of Hahndorf. We are deeply disappointed with the outcome of your stay. This is of no comparison to the standards of which we ask of our staff. We kindly ask that you email kylie.wooden@themanna.com.au all the details of your feedback so that she can fully investigate and resolve this problem. We are extremely appreciative of your constructive feedback as it helps us to improve our service levels and our business. We can assure you that this will not be over looked and we do hope you change your mind and come visit us again. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    73
    32
    10
    10
See reviews for
26
87
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is very poor value. It cost us 11% more per night than the hotel we used in Central Adelaide immediately beforehand and which was of a comparable standard of accommodation. Its services were dubious, with a cost of $10 to use the so called Guest Laundry a good example. If this charge bought clear access to the necessary equipment it would be a bit steep but tolerable, but once having paid the amount we found we were competing with the cleaning staff, and other guests, for access to a single washer and dryer. As it turned out we had to wait hours to complete our laundry.

Car parking was also unsatisfactory. There was considerable pressure on the car park. The distance from our room to where we could park was considerable and there is no lift to the upper floors..

Our room appeared much colder than the outside temperature would indicate. Upon investigating why, we found a gap of 3-4mm at the bottom of our balcony doors.

All in all, this hotel delivered very poor service. This review site states at the time of writing that this hotel is ranked number 1 in Hahndorf. I would not like to stay at any of the others !

Room Tip: First floor rooms are quieter but there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us in Hahndorf. We are deeply saddened to hear that you were disappointed with you stay. Please be aware that we are a Motel and our services and facilities do differ from general Hotel facilities. We offer three room types at The Manna of Hahndorf, some of have car parking directly outside their door and others which are enclosed in a courtyard area for privacy to suit the many preferences of our guests. We will certainly be investigating the gap under the door of which you have mentioned as this is the first we have heard of this and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sincerely sorry that this was not the stay you envisioned and hoped you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

first time in the adelaide hills, its was an unbelieve experience and a must see and must stay at the manna of hahndorf, highley recommended that you stay at this place and visit the adelaide hills, accommodation was excellent and the price was cheap

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Manna of Hahndorf for your visit to the Adelaide Hills. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We hope that you come and visit us again in the sunny Adelaide Hills! But don’t wait too long…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very helpful and friendly reception but only open 7am to 7pm. The hotel is very conveniently located on the main high street (Main Street). The rooms were good, nothing fancy but clean and adequate. Good and free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Manna of Hahndorf and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you thought our rooms were good and clean. Our Housekeepers do an amazing job and we will certainly make sure that they receive your feedback! The Manna of Hahndorf reception office is open until 7pm as we have a night manager living on site at our sister property The Hahndorf Motor Lodge (100m down the road) who oversees all three of our Motel properties after hours. Thank you again for staying with us for your stay in Hahndorf we hope you will come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Manna 2 years ago and liked it so much we returned. For the first night we were in room 63, in the double storey block. We were disappointed as you could hear everything from the second storey including their TV & plumbing. We asked the front desk if we could be moved and Kylie was so helpful she moved us to room 60 - perfect!

Hahndorf does seem the place to get married but you can't blame the Manna for people who are too drunk to care about anyone else and stumble and giggle back the their rooms at 1:30am Sunday morning! So too we had a young family with two small boys who started running and screaming at 6:30am - you have to wonder about people being so selfish these days.

We would definately stay at the Manna again, just avoid the two storey block. If you have a problem talk to the staff they are very helpful.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the centre section in the double storey block - too noisey you can hear people upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at The Manna of Hahndorf. We were very saddened to hear that you were disappointed with your 2nd stay but I am glad that we were able to relocate you to a different room. We have since looked into the sound issues with the plumbing in the room you were staying in as to eliminate the problem re-occurring for other guests. We thank you for bring this to our attention.
We have a night manager on site at our sister property The Hahndorf Motor Lodge (100m down the road) who oversees our three properties after-hours. We do urge our guests to contact them by dialling 9 from your room if there is a disturbance.
We are glad that we were able to turn your stay with us around and it is certainly great to hear that our team members were all very helpful! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you again very soon to The Manna of Hahndorf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A 2 day stay was organised for a girlfriend and myself.. We had a superior room with two single beds which was organised with our booking .
The room itself was very comfortable and modern, the bathroom was quite spacious, but the water pressure wasnt very good but it didn't effect our holiday in any way. The bathroom layout is a bit odd, you have to almost step into the shower to get into the bathroom .
The swimming pool and spa was a big plus for us which we used everyday, be nice if the Manna had one :)
Overall we had a nice stay , the staff were very friendly and helpful and would stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms from 25-30 are the best in my opinion.. Lovely afternoon sun and very convenient to the Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Manna of Hahndorf and for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear that you both really liked our Superior Rooms. They really are quite versatile accommodating both king beds and two single beds.
I will be getting our maintenance representative to inspect all the rooms in regards to the water pressure as to ensure there are no issues. I am glad this did not affect your stay and I thank you for bringing it to our attention.
From all the team at The Manna of Hahndorf, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to meeting you again… don’t wait too long though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Needing basically a room for the night as was working in the district the next day. All options were either booked or not suitable (two single bed rooms only ones left) we settled on the Manna. This was the most expensive place we stayed on a 4 day business trip and I couldn't reconcile small country town with main city prices. Now that rant is done this is my review.

The room we had was an Executive room, having a King bed. All new, shiny and sparkling and probably value if you wanted that style. Bed was comfy, bathroom large and nice.
In the upper part of the town and good eating options close by. I think we walked 10 minutes to where we ate - no biggie.

Only beef is the rooms are noisy with thin walls and ceilings. We had a centre room (#62)which was a 2 story setup. One of the rooms (next door, upper or lower) the TV was on and it could be heard. Bit annoying for a new building - why not spend a tad more for better wall insulation?
As Hahndorf is Wedding Central, the guests rolled back from 1230am onwards, with the associated hooting and hollering. People in the room above luckily went straight to bed with no fuss, as we heard them talking and walking (and thank goodness nothing else :))

As a nice destination I'd rate this up there, as a place to stay the night and nothing else I'd choose others

Room Tip: Single story rooms would be my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Manna of Hahndorf and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you liked our Executive Rooms our property is almost six years old and our Housekeepers to a great job to ensure that it still looks as good as it did when we opened!
We have a night manager on site at our sister property The Hahndorf Motor Lodge (100m down the road) who oversees our three properties after-hours. We do urge our guests to contact them by dialling 9 from your room if there is a disturbance. But we are glad to hear that they did not keep you up.
Thank you again for staying with us at The Manna of Hahndorf and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manna of Hahndorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manna of Hahndorf

Address: 25 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Hahndorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manna of Hahndorf 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manna of Hahndorf, 4-Star Accommodation in Hahndorf with more than 50 modern & stylish Motel rooms set back off the Main Street of historic Hahndorf, 'Life is More Interesting on the Street' The Manna of Hahndorf is the perfect place for any stay, long, short, business or pleasure, for both Conference Groups & Wedding Groups; Your stylish alternative to Adelaide CBD Accommodation. Conveniently located with all the modern facilities, in a relaxed regional setting. Perfectly located in the heart of the Adelaide Hills, a great base for your to explore the Adelaide CBD & Glenelg, plus the Barossa Valley, Fleurieu Peninsula and McLaren Vale regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Manna of Hahndorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manna Hotel Hahndorf
The Manna Of Hahndorf South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manna of Hahndorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.