We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Confortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stables Inn Motel

Stables Inn Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hahndorf
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stables Inn Motel
Save
You added Stables Inn Motel to your Saves list
74 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Confortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed during Christmas season for tree days and I found it very good! Nicely decorated. It is locate in a very convenient location. Close to shops, cafes and the Famous Hahndorf inn Hotel. During our stay i did not experienced any disturbance by street noises.

Room Tip: Book well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hahndorf is a bit quirky and quaint at the best of times. We found ourselves staying after a big party. i think we found the last room in the village that night.
The room was at the back of the motel and very old and tatty. The bed was not comfortable and the bathroom was hideous. It was clean and the heater works.
If you stay there, get in, sleep, get out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Rang to redeem a voucher - they took our booking but refused a weekend stay (so we had to take time off work) then they delayed our stay for a month "due to availability". Arrived to find a closed sign on the door - apparently they closed down a week after they had taken our booking - no phone call, nothing. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for a couple of nights. We'd been to Hanhdorf for the day a loved it so wanted to come back and stay overnight. We got a deal on the Stables so we didn't pay the full price thankfully. As the title says, if they spent some money refurbishing the place, it'd be fantastic - it's central, the room we stayed in was big, the room was clean and tidy, it had a spa bath, the staff were friendly, all good things. But, the room look a bit like my Granny's room, the spa bath was filthy, and the bathroom was falling apart - tiles falling from the wall, the sink cabinet was hanging off the wall, and the taps were being pushed out the wall by their pipes. There was a sign apologising for the 'renovations' in the bathroom but I notice that this issue goes back some time judging by the older reviews on here. And, I've never seen renovations that smash up a bathroom in such a haphazard way. Anyway, a real shame, the place has potential, just needs some money spent on it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The rooms are not large but adequate and tidy. The big plus is it's well located in the centre of town. We had a room upstairs -- the stairs were a little narrow but adequate. Overall, okay if you're travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We (two couples) stayed here for 2 nights and we found it quaint but wonderful! The price, central main street location (and off street parking), the rooms and friendly staff were excellent and more than offset any minor shortcomings there might be in the rooms (altho we didn't find much wrong in that respect).
We would definitely stay there always and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed in one of the spa rooms after being told the standard rooms were all booked out. I had booked a month in advance and enquired again on the day as to whether the cheaper rooms were available. I was told they were not. I suspect they were being a little untruthful as in fact the hotel and carpark looked rather empty for the duration of our stay.
Finding the reception area is not really clear - you have to go in to the restaurant/cafe in order to pay for your room and collect the key.
The room was tidy though the mattress was uncomfortable and pillows not so great either. Woke up not feeling very well rested.
Bathroom with spa bath - quite disappointing aesthetically, though it had a great full-pressure hot shower! Didn't use the spa.
The location in the middle of the main street of Hahndorf is very handy and easy to get to the cafes/restaurants either way. Did not eat in the Stables restaurant while we were there.
All in all a good enough room - not worth $120 for the night but they do put the prices up on weekends, normally around $95 or so during the week and would have been happier to pay that - we really just needed a place to crash after sampling at local wineries that afternoon.

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stables Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stables Inn Motel

Address: 74 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Hahndorf
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Also Known As:
Stables Inn Motel Hahndorf, South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stables Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.