We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend some money on a refurb and this would be a gem” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stables Inn Motel

Stables Inn Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hahndorf
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stables Inn Motel
Save
You added Stables Inn Motel to your Saves list
74 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia   |  
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spend some money on a refurb and this would be a gem”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for a couple of nights. We'd been to Hanhdorf for the day a loved it so wanted to come back and stay overnight. We got a deal on the Stables so we didn't pay the full price thankfully. As the title says, if they spent some money refurbishing the place, it'd be fantastic - it's central, the room we stayed in was big, the room was clean and tidy, it had a spa bath, the staff were friendly, all good things. But, the room look a bit like my Granny's room, the spa bath was filthy, and the bathroom was falling apart - tiles falling from the wall, the sink cabinet was hanging off the wall, and the taps were being pushed out the wall by their pipes. There was a sign apologising for the 'renovations' in the bathroom but I notice that this issue goes back some time judging by the older reviews on here. And, I've never seen renovations that smash up a bathroom in such a haphazard way. Anyway, a real shame, the place has potential, just needs some money spent on it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The rooms are not large but adequate and tidy. The big plus is it's well located in the centre of town. We had a room upstairs -- the stairs were a little narrow but adequate. Overall, okay if you're travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We (two couples) stayed here for 2 nights and we found it quaint but wonderful! The price, central main street location (and off street parking), the rooms and friendly staff were excellent and more than offset any minor shortcomings there might be in the rooms (altho we didn't find much wrong in that respect).
We would definitely stay there always and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed in one of the spa rooms after being told the standard rooms were all booked out. I had booked a month in advance and enquired again on the day as to whether the cheaper rooms were available. I was told they were not. I suspect they were being a little untruthful as in fact the hotel and carpark looked rather empty for the duration of our stay.
Finding the reception area is not really clear - you have to go in to the restaurant/cafe in order to pay for your room and collect the key.
The room was tidy though the mattress was uncomfortable and pillows not so great either. Woke up not feeling very well rested.
Bathroom with spa bath - quite disappointing aesthetically, though it had a great full-pressure hot shower! Didn't use the spa.
The location in the middle of the main street of Hahndorf is very handy and easy to get to the cafes/restaurants either way. Did not eat in the Stables restaurant while we were there.
All in all a good enough room - not worth $120 for the night but they do put the prices up on weekends, normally around $95 or so during the week and would have been happier to pay that - we really just needed a place to crash after sampling at local wineries that afternoon.

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

The room was decorated nicely, however air-conditioner only covered one area of the room, no toaster, nowhere to place your luggage, and staff most unimpressive. Bathroom tiles falling off.
Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We were visiting Adelaide and decided to stay in Handorf and commute the 20 minutes there each day. Our one night stay turned into three nights. The Stables is located in Hahndorf's main street and is within easy walking to cafes, restaurants and the hotels.

We stayed in room 3 which is a spa suite (disabled unit) with parking right outside. The room had a queen bed in a slat bed style with ceiling fan, jug, microwave, toaster, fridge and spa. The room was clean and welcoming - see the photos attached.

This room has been refurbished with a feature room painted in the bedroom and the bathroom freshened up. Yes, there is peeling paint on one small section of the bathroom wall, and the tiling panel is coming away from the wall in one area. To us, this was disappointing, and it was the only let-down of the entire room. It wouldn’t take much to rectify; so if you can ignore these two minor issues, you will enjoy your stay.

The stables accommodation is attached to a café in the main street. After hours there is no on-site manager, but they are contactable via mobile phone.

Minor negatives:

• There’s no in-room telephone. This was not a problem for us, but might be a drawback for some.

• There is no bench space at all on the vanity in the bathroom for toiletries. We placed ours on the bench in the kitchenette.

• No iron is in the room, but one is available in the common room.

The room was very clean, and for $95 a night in peak season for a spa room, we’d recommend you consider stay here. It's very good value, well located, quiet and clean and we’d definitely go there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

Very Centrally located accommodation, however after paying for a spa room that I was told was recently renovated, we were very disappointed. The main room was nicely fitted out however the bathroom was not refitted, and was quite dilapidated. The bathroom had cracked tiles, stained spa jets, hairs in the spa, the vanity was coming away from the wall, not very nice at all. Needless to say neither of us ventured into the spa at all. On checkout my complaint was brushed off quite quickly and no form of compensation was offered.

If you do stay here, don’t bother paying extra for a spa room, and certainly don't pay until you check out to give you bargaining power should the room not be clean.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stables Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stables Inn Motel

Address: 74 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Hahndorf
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Also Known As:
Stables Inn Motel Hahndorf, South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stables Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.