We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like a loving family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goolwa Central Motel

Goolwa Central Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goolwa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goolwa Central Motel
Save
You added Goolwa Central Motel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Cadell Street, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Goolwa
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Treated like a loving family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Absolutely loved supper friendly Russian woman and her English husband.

We were greeted like a long lost family members with lots of love. A young man offered to carry our bags to our room, which was not expected and a very pleasant gesture.

In regards to rooms, well it was a standard room, neat and clean but very spacious compare to most accommodations at similar price. TV had a digital receiver, DVD player and reception was great. Air conditioner is brand new, works well and bed had an electric blanket.

Continental breakfast was a very nice bonus included in the price, because we had to leave early and everything in town was shut.

Really loved the spa and complimentary drinks at the restaurant.

Once again, Nataly and John went out of their way to take care of us and I’m sure we'll be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at Goolwa Central in March with my boyfriend and few days ago the owners have contacted me asking to write a review for the place.

Have to say that we enjoyed staying at this motel. It is not grand, but owners were incredibly helpful and made me and my boyfriend feel very welcome. They are both of European background and went above and beyond to help us and make our getaway special.

I am really not sure what some people are complaining about, maybe they just met them on a bad day or something, but I guess we all tend to write negative rather than positive things. Or maybe Europeans come across as abrupt, but really it's just their style of communication, short and to the point, but Aussies are a bit sensitive at times IMHO.

In any case, the air conditioner and digital TV with inbuilt DVD player worked well. Bed was nice and soft. Spa worked as it supposed to. Breakfast was standard but complimentary so no complains. :)

Dinner was terrific. HIGHLY RECOMEND CHICKEN WITH PRAWNS!!! Hmmmm...

Main thing, once again, was the love and care that owners showered us with on the day.

Many thanks!

Room Tip: Spa room was great. So ask if they have any specials on for the deluxe packages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was a rather pleasant experience. Good size rooms, free breakfast and pool, digital tv and soft beds (I had a sore back after rowing on the river all day, so needed something comfortable).

Really no complains.

The only issue was that the owners seemed to be a tired and for some reason felt obliged to share with me that they work every day from 6 am till 9 pm without holidays. But I guess it's understandable given that they are a bit old and running business on their own.

Other than that, it was a good experience for a price well within my budget.

Room Tip: I stayed in the room with the balcony and highly recomend it. A bit on expensive side but VERY spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceduna, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at this motel on Sunday of the Adelaide Cup Weekend. The weather was hot, and unfortunately after running the airconditioner for several hours, it was still only blowing "air", nothing cool. We had to roll the bed over to the other wall to take adantage of the slight breeze emanating from the A/C, and one wheel fell off the ancient bed during this relocation. Bed was so soft that when one of us shifted position, the other nearly bounced out of bed. I was asked in the morning if we had had a comfortable night, but when told of the problems, the woman behind the desk didn't want to know. She talked about how much they had spent on the motel, and blamed previous customers for setting the controls on the A/C. No apologies, or a symathetic hearing. We overheard another customer very vocally voicing her displeasure as well, so it wasn't just our opinion. Won't be recommending this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Goolwa hotels

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our checkin friendly and efficient. The rooms booked - family and a twin share roomy, clean and comfortable The airconditioner a bit noisy but cooled the room well.. Breakfast supplies plentiful. The plunge pool clean and refreshing on a hot weekend. Overall good service and value for money. Thankyou.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank anne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Mixed review - 1st staff member we met was extremely welcoming and informative. Room was large and comfortable - typical of it's era - bare brick walls etc. Very happy with cleanliness and motel was located in a good spot on main street but our room was behind the street so was lovely and quiet for sleeping. Old analogue TV and noisy 70's a/c. But they are rewiring for digital TV so that will overcome one problem. Bed was pretty comfortable (and I'm very fussy due to back problems). Did have interaction with a younger member of staff who mumbled and spoke very indistinctly and couldn't seem to follow what I wanted to know which was such a contrast to the first person I met. Met one of the housekeeping staff and she was very helpful and friendly. They service the rooms every day something I haven't encountered for quite a while. Overall a reasonable experience for the price. A lovely town with plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluey91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

My name is Gala,
I checked into the Goolwa Central Motel for 4 days after my wedding in May 2011.I was given the honeymoon suite and it was a delightful, very spacious room with SPA and a wall size mirror that made the room even bigger.
Hosts were aware that we are new weds and they congratulated us on arrival and give us bottle of Champagne for our private celebration.
We had wonderful dinners in the dinning room. The attention from all of the staff of the motel and restaurant was exceptional good. They mad us feel very welcome and very special.
I am recommending this lovely place to all my friends. Thank you, guys.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goolwa
9.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
9.6 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Goolwa Riverport Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats
8.5 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
4.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Goolwa Boat Haven
Goolwa Boat Haven
#1 of 5 in Goolwa
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goolwa Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goolwa Central Motel

Address: 30 Cadell Street, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Goolwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Goolwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Goolwa Central Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Best Western Goolwa
Goolwa Best Western
Goolwa Central Motel South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#